Motivation logo

Triple Threat

Thrice

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I made three brief bullets in preparation of this note; as a makeshift outline. I dare not type them now for shame of realizing the pure crypticness of them. In any event, I resolved to create something for the sake of a much needed “HAFF Time;" as so elegantly named by the lovely Kalyn Nicholson (Kalyn’s Coffee Talk). It is based off of an element from a recent concert from one of her fellow Toronto natives (in addition to major sporting events [Halftime]). The acronym stands for “Honesty, Acceptance, Forgiveness, and Focus” (if I got the order right). I was recently afforded the opportunity to be brutally honest with myself by a newly christened BFF (Best Friend Forever). He demanded an answer to a question that I have long dreaded for some reason: “What is stressing you out?”

With hardly any hesitation I replied, “Finances, Fam, & forlornness.” It wasn’t long after that I remembered something that a mutual mentor mentioned about managing to manipulate your “excuses into motivations.” For the sake of sounding condescending, “forlornness” is a synonym for disastrous loneliness. If I’m just being completely Honest, I felt a smidge of relief just from externalizing the matter.

It is reminiscent of the quote from I believe, the late, great (James) Baldwin: “Not everything that is faced can be changed; but nothing can be changed until it is faced.”

I would venture to say that it was a detrimental understatement that I needed radical change in those three areas of my life. Sub out “Forlornness” for “Friendship”, if you will; but almost immediately after my introspection, there was a concerted effort to help me better myself and feel like part of a team. If I may bounce around a bit, I began to Focus on Forgiving myself and Accept that which was baffling a mere year or two ago: “Happiness is a choice” (—Adam Kokesh’s Freedom!). It occurred to me when initiating this particular piece that I was in the heart of my hometown, where I recently questioned my rationale for continuing what seemed but a pitiful existence. Back then I wouldn’t dare dream of walking into the coffee shop and ordering something; that is to say nothing of sitting and complimenting another random patron.

In short, there are three matters that everyone ought to do everyday, according to my favorite psychologist, Doc V: meditate/pray; sweat; and externalize for 20 min each. If you can find the willpower and any silence to close your eyes for but two minutes… Many of us sweat in the shower, or workout for hours with minimal sweat… Last but not least, if you cannot find a single soul that you trust to listen intently, and confide in them, then pen and paper will have to suffice.

I was well aware of those “pro tips,” and yet they were the far most removed items from my agenda most days way back when. In hindsight, I doubt that my luck would have remained against me so severely and for so long had I just completed more than minimal effort. Actually, I’m reminded of what was essentially a working title of this piece: “Triple Threat.” I’m convinced that if anyone can tackle those three matters with maximum effort, there will be a paradigm shift of sorts; all but immediately. Even now, I am contemplating ways to incorporate them into my relentless schedule more. Speaking of which though, I’d be remiss to not mention one of my favorite quotes on the matter: “Everyone ought to meditate for at least 20 min a day; and if you’re too busy for that, then an hour daily ought to be your minimum (paraphrasing).” Of course the originator of the quote escapes me at present; and I am determined to break a detrimental cycle of oversleeping; so as to have more time for “The Big Three;” therefore I cannot be bothered to Google it at 01:30 AM. Anywho, stare at yourself in the mirror and accept responsibility for the way that the rest of your life goes; impending crises notwithstanding. Peace and love.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.