Motivation logo

Triggers

Do you really want to push these buttons with me?

By Theresa EvansPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Triggers
Photo by Julian Hochgesang on Unsplash

Take a deep breath and switch off your ego when someone tries to trigger you by insulting or doing, or saying something irritating you. Remember that if you are easily offended, you are easily manipulated. (Conscious reminder.com)

This is true for most people. If you allow others to make you feel some type of way because they are in a bad mood or because they neglected to handle their own business the correct way, then over time, it will consume you, so you never want to put yourself in a mental or emotional situation where you are tagging on extra shit from somebody else. I know life is hard, I know life is stressful, and life can be crazy at times, but at the same time, you can still find beauty in some of the madness.

I used to get triggered by many things others would say about me because I knew that most of what others had been saying were all lies about me. I used to be the one that would instantly feel insulted and irritated simultaneously because I would allow others to dictate how I felt about myself, and this is not an excellent place to find yourself.

I had to learn to take a deep breath and switch off my ego, and turning off my ego was tricky for me at the time because I thought this was normal and realized that it was not expected. I couldn’t understand that if I was easily offended by what other people assumed I was, I was giving them the power to manipulate me. We all know someone is excellent at manipulating others to get what they want and then leaving you high and dry when the situation they put you in is too hot for them to handle.

I am putting all of the haters and negative bullshit on blast now because, as we all know, life is too short to keep allowing others to trigger you by insulting you and making you feel like you are the one with the problem. Don’t get me wrong, if there is a problem with me, and we are supposed to be cool with each other, then take the time to sit down with me and have a grown folks conversation. Don’t keep pointing out all my flaws; expect me not to say anything about yours. If you want to still be in my life as a friend or family member, then you do not want to ever get so comfortable with me in thinking that I will not speak up for myself. If you are wrong in the same manner that I am, then we should be able to work things out. Don’t get so upset and caught up in your thoughts and feelings because I put you on notice about your bull shit.

First and foremost, I am not having a lousy attitude when speaking; I am simply stating that we both have work to do to keep the relationship strong and focused. Steve Harvey said it best, “life is 90% of what you make it, and the other 10% you live through it.” So having heard this, I can see now that I am the one that can control what triggers me and what doesn’t.

If and when I walk away from a situation, it is because I still have some respect for you, so kindly let me walk off because if you keep trying to insult me and trigger my buttons, guess what? You will not like the outcome in the end. I am responsible for myself and my emotions, not others.

Please check out my other websites, and donations are welcome.

https://writers.work/theresaevans

https://medium.com/@marietheresa42

https://twitter.com/Theresa03735360

https://www.instagram.com/marietheresa42/

https://facebook.com/Theresa.evans56027

https://vocal.media/authors/theresa-evans

how to
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.