Motivation logo

Top-Four New Year’s Resolutions

Resolutions for families

By BryanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Top-Four New Year’s Resolutions
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

It is again this time of year, a whole new year, time to celebrate with friends, family, loved ones and pets. At the present time, everyone is drafting their New Year's resolutions. I'll give you my recommendations.

1.Family time

If you are a father, mother, sister, husband, wife or brother, and you are reading this, you understand how important family time is. One thing I have learned to understand, when I spend time with my family, I begin to see the various qualities and attributes of the individuals in my circle. This year, I'm going to focus on taking my children a bit more to the park, playing board games like Monopoly or UNO. Maybe play a game of hide-and-seek and run around the house. It's important that I understand what they like and what they don't like. And as a single-family unit, we will learn to better agree on things and how to love and forgive ourselves.

2.Lose Weight

I know this is everyone one or number two resolution is losing weight. There was a point where I used to weigh 250 pounds. I was recently married, we had one child and I picked up a patient that was sick with diabetes, and unfortunately, one of his limbs was amputated. He told me that if I did not lose weight I will be in the same boat that he was. He told me with tears in his eyes I have not carried my daughter in over five years, needless, to say that he scared me to death, so I started working out and I lost tons of weight. But that was nine years ago I put on some of that weight again and as I said previously, I have four children so now I need to take the time to be that much healthier to spend time with them. Run around with them and not being able to tell them to stop I need to breathe. I read an article on Google that said a child with one obese parent has 50% of becoming obese. When both parents are obese the children are more likely to become 80% obese.

3.Read Books

One of the goals that we need to have this year is definitely reading more books. Whether it's one book a week, two books a month, or even one book a month. It is very essential that we start reading more books to become more educated on the topic that we like. There are so many different types of books there are Christian books, there are books on fiction, nonfiction, there are books on love, forgiveness there are books on many many many subjects that we can increase our knowledge, our vocabulary and understanding to become better individuals in society in our homes, family and around our peers. Start today there are many books that can literally change our minds and the way we look at life.

4.Morning Breakfast

For me the greatest meal of the day is breakfast it's priceless for me. Why is this part of my resolution this year, it's simple. I love waking up at 5 AM or 6 AM on most days. I love to prepare breakfast for my children and wife. Research always constantly changes, back when I was growing up breakfast was the most important meal of the day, the biggest breakfast the stronger you become the bigger you get. There's a lot of benefits of breakfast for example, you have pure black coffee, which helps your brain function and helps cognition, and so on and so forth. But I just really like preparing the food, like cracking the eggs early in the morning making some bacon, toasted bread, etc. Seeing the joy of my wife knowing that she doesn't have to cook early in the morning and hear my kids tell me that I am the best breakfast maker Lol.

We can write resolutions all day long, but if we don't have the consistency we will never accomplish the simple goals. So stay consistent stay strong and accomplish the goals that you have created. These are just some goals that I find to be important. I have a ton of goals this year, but these are to me by far the most important ones. Go ahead and smash these goals this year and I wish you guys all good luck.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Bryan

I have always been perplexed and how to respond about my bio. I love to read, I love to write. I hope you get to enjoy each and every story that writw. It comes from the heart and my imagination.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.