Motivation logo

Top 3 Lessons from a Pandemic

My Personal Positive Spin to Tragedy

By DeeAnndra DovePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Top 3 Lessons from a Pandemic
Photo by Cara Beth Buie on Unsplash

Wow! It’s been rough. The amount of loss that comes with a pandemic is very real and hits each one of us in both similar yet different ways. Whether you lost a job(s), family, loved ones, your favorite restaurant/ store, or the success you gained from years past in whatever area(s) of life. Loss sucks. Before you say, “Thanks, Captain Obvious!” I wanted to take a positive spin on what we all have been through because staying in a negative space that quite frankly we were all in before COVID-19 even hit the atmosphere of reality. So here are my top 3 personal lessons that I have learned from this experience:

1)Put value in MY time.

Is it just me or did anyone else realize how truly beyond exhausting the “old life” was? With having an abundant amount of “free” time on my hands, it was fantastic to actually put my time where I wanted. How did we get Jedi mind tricked into believing that putting the one thing that we can never get back all in for someone else’s dream? One thing for sure moving forward, while I love being helpful to others and serving people, my time is going to be valued a heck of a lot more than before from myself.

2)Health is wealth.

With an exhausted healthcare system and already unhealthy society, this should not be that big of a shock on the list. SEVERELY underrated in America if not the world is prioritizing your physical and mental healths. With junk being cheaper to consume and social media, not surprising that we have a fragile longevity rate and nonexistent mental state. One thing I know for a fact that if you do not provide motivation, encouragement, and most importantly joy to my life then you gotta go. Sorry, not sorry! If this doesn’t wake us up to the importance of self-care( the physical health and mental health of it all, but pampering nice too.) then I honestly do not think anything will.

3)Fear is stupid.

Being fearful is a part of our survival that is true, BUT I am talking about fear of doing one reckless stupid thing or not following your dream. Personally, I have always wanted to carve out my own little path in life because I have this lovely trait of hating being like everybody else, but I too suffer from the fear of doing the dang thing complex. That is until like a week ago when I heard my preacher talking about how Jesus delivered us from fear, and that fear is essentially the Devil’s ultimate tool to prevent you from achieving your God-given purpose. So on behalf of your dream and future self: Do it!

So what pray tail will I be up to now being dished these lessons, let me tell ya. I plan on focusing on my well-being as a whole versus one or the other, which to be frank is how you probably should do it. Starting from a couple of weeks ago, I will be only doing things that make me feel valued and out of a grateful mindset for the opportunity. In English? I am a creative (duh, I wouldn’t be on here if not) so writing and producing YouTube content, while hopefully helping people is my essential goal of it all. Granted that means taking on jobs until that can be my income if graced with that privilege, but I am good with that because for me just doing it will be enough. Lastly, if we all rocked our true desires and passions this world would definitely not suffer from a mental health crisis and would most likely be better for future generations. That should be all that matters anyway, right?

healing
Like

About the Creator

DeeAnndra Dove

Just a woman trying to find her fit in the world. Multifaceted with many passions trying to create her own platform to help others like her find their way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.