Motivation logo

Tips on Staying Motivated and Productive

What has helped me

By MeganPublished 4 years ago 21 min read
Like
Tips on Staying Motivated and Productive
Photo by Dose Media on Unsplash

Through many years, just like you, I have struggled with constantly being in a state of procrastination. We all constantly get into that mindset of not wanting to do the work, but then complain about not getting it done or a deadline coming up.

Trust me I’ve been there. It can still be a struggle, but over time, I found a system that has helped me and helped my friends with maintaining productive lifestyles and staying motivated. Yes it is okay to take breaks or take time off when it is needed. We all need a day (sometimes a week) for ourselves.

There are times where we constantly feel stuck or as though we just don’t have the motivation to go about our day. I get it. We are humans and we are not robots. As someone who is a dancer, has a busy schedule and is always striving for perfection, it can be exhausting. But creating a schedule and working being motivated for the day/week has been very helpful.

So with that being said! I took some time to write what has helped me in staying productive and motivated each and every day. I do take breaks when needed, but I believe living a productive and motivated lifestyle can lead to so many wonderful opportunities and keep your mind in the right place. Note that not all these work the first time. Everything is trial and error, but putting in the work can make a huge difference.

I hope you like these tips and if you want try them out for yourself and see what differences it can make.

So let’s get started with some tips that have helped me to stay productive and motivated!

1.) Figure out your schedule on Sundays either first thing in the morning, evening or night

Sundays are your time to shine! The beginning of each week, try to figure out your schedule. This includes meetings, phone calls, classes, work time and locations, appointments pay day or payments that have to be made, work related events. Pretty much start with anything work related or anything that is important and needs to be prioritized first.

Once you have a basic idea of what your week is going to look like, you are able to see what you will have to take on for each day. Once you have the important dates figured out, then try to figure out when to go to the grocery store (if needed), family time, events with family or friends and any outside activities. This even includes a day to yourself.

I tend to do this every Sunday evening, but pick a time that is most convenient for you. But picking a time can be easy, but picking a time and moment that will be most helpful will be better. I chose the evenings because that is usually when I will get my schedule and it’s a brainstorm time for me. Setting aside time on Sundays to just figure out times can be helpful just to start out your week.

Picking a time in the morning to get it completed might be the best way for you, but through my perspective, when I would do it in the mornings I would think about it the entire day or sometimes even forget. But everyone is different.

Picking a time at night can be helpful, just make sure you are not so tired that you can’t focus on creating these schedules for yourself.

2.) Create a schedule for anything and everything

This one piggybacks off number 1. Writing anything and everything down can be helpful. Yes physically writing it down is proven to help your mind stick to a schedule and to physically see it on paper. Many of us rely on our phones to give us our schedule and if that works for you, then keep doing it. But if you’re like me (or if you want to be more on top of things) having a physical copy of everything can mean more and maintaining a productive mindset.

We tend to spend so much time behind a computer screen or behind our phones looking at our schedules and sometimes it doesn’t stick in our mind until we write it down. The simple act of physically writing everything down makes you realize how much or how little you have to do or have to complete. Physical seeing on paper versus on your phone can really change your thought process on understanding the work that you have to do.

It also helps to rewire your brain. Even though it is a simple act and a simple thing to do, not staring at a screen gives you time to notice that not everything needs to be technical.

3.) Planners will be your best friend

Again the physical act of writing things down can change your mindset and perspective. Having a physical planner can be one of the most helpful things. Get yourself either a personalized planner or just a simple planner from the store that has a calendar and weekly calendar. In your calendar, write everything that needs to be written for that month. One the weekly calendar (also known as the “as you go calendar”), write down everything you want to complete for each day. Create a to do list in those spaces, write motivational quotes, color code it, etc. Personalize it as much as you want to the point where you want to open your planner each and every day.

4.) To Do list for both your week and your day

Continuing on writing things out. To Do lists are by far my favorite way to stay productive. Try to have a to do list for your day and another to do list for your week. It might seem excessive, but having a to do list helps you to stay on top of your work or stay on track with your day. One thing that I have learnt about writing to do lists is that it is okay if you don’t complete everything you wanted to do in one day. As someone who has extreme perfectionism, not completing a task can be difficult for me. But understanding that sometimes plans for your days can fall through or we can get carried away with doing other things and that is okay. It isn’t the end of the world. You can always transfer things on a new to do list. Sometimes those things you wanted to do during that day won’t always be right for that day.

To do lists, in my opinion, should have a theme that is related to your mood for the day. If you are feeling on top of the world and in the mood to clean, then put cleaning down, but don’t forget the work that you also would like to complete for that day. Again themed to-do lists aren’t for everyone, but having a set theme of the day on the things you want to accomplish for that day can be helpful.

For my college or high school kids, create a to-do list that is related to school work that you have to get done. If you have a project or paper that needs attention put that first. Once it is done it will feel great to cross it off which means you have more time to do the work that you have been meaning to complete for the next day or even the next week (if you're like me, I used to be ahead in my classes for about 3-4 weeks).

Creating a daily to do list will help you focus on the work you want to do just for that day and your weekly to do list can be something that is continuous throughout the week (example: emails, phone calls, appointments etc.).

5.) Create your own calendar

We all know that calendars are great, but many times we get lazy with changing the months. One thing that I find that has helped me a lot is physically making my own calendar. Yes it can take time, but you are able to see it again in your own handwriting and you can completely personalize it to your like.

I know there are companies out there who will personalize a calendar with pictures, but it can still be difficult to constantly remember to change the month or to even fill it out. If you take the time to make a calendar from hand (just get a piece of paper and draw the month and days) you will find that it is actually very simple and helpful. You make it yourself and it also gives you time for yourself. Being able to do this can make you notice that your days, weeks and months are in your control. You can see it all and again the act of physically writing a calendar can help your mind in understanding the work that you have to complete.

Also you are the only person who can read and understand your handwriting more than others, so when it is completely personalized it helps your mind. It can also be fun to create something yourself. Just set some time on the side and write it out.

6.) Start the night before

While you are laying in bed, always say to yourself that tomorrow will be a better day. The more you do this, the more you will wake up wanting to tackle your next task. Starting things the night before can be helpful for you in the morning. Especially if you are a night owl, getting things down the night before can be rejuvenating in the morning and sometimes can save some time. If you are a morning person like me, sometimes starting tasks at night can be a bit difficult (reason why I do a lot of planning the evening before).

Even doing simple tasks like picking up after yourself and putting things away can take a huge load off of your tasks to do. It is so simple that it can make a big difference in the next day.

Go to bed knowing that you are going to be productive the next day. Also take some time for yourself at night. Don’t and I repeat Do not go on your phone before fall asleep. I know we are all guilty of this, but studies have shown that it isn’t good for your sleep schedule. Trying planning, reading or journaling at night. It will change your mood and help you to start being productive the next day.

7.) Actually get some sleep

Sleep will always be important. Making sure you get enough sleep is so important no matter what age you are. Figure out how much sleep you need to feel productive. I know it sounds weird, but do little experiments on how much sleep you need to feel productive throughout the next day.

For me, I discover I run very well when I get about 5-6.5 hours of sleep. I know it sounds crazy, but it is what works for me. This amount of sleep is helpful for me to be productive throughout my day and helps me to stay focused. Many people I know need to get 7-8 hours of sleep and some need less than 5 hours. It’s all about experimenting and seeing what sleep pattern helps you to maintain a productive day.

How I discover this is not only through trial and error, but having a fitbit has also helped me to track my sleeping. I am able to see how much sleep I get each night and by seeing the charts, I have been able to conclude that I am very productive when I get 5-6.5 hours of sleep. If I get more I am cranky all day and feel fatigued and if I get less I feel weak. I highly suggested figuring out how much sleep you should get and what works best for your body. Not everyone will have the same sleep schedule, but it is good to know what is best for you.

8.) Wake up each morning with a positive mindset

My biggest pet peeve is when people use the saying, “I woke up on the wrong side of the bed, that is the reason for my crappy attitude and the reason I can't be productive today.” Oof, that is not a good excuse because you make the decision each morning to be positive or tell yourself fake lies. Don’t blame your bed for being unproductive. Wake up each morning and say positive things and if you can’t do that right away. Maybe just lay there and think about your day or just don’t think at all and let your mind be calm. Having a calm mind in the morning will create a calm day and kind of a go with the flow mentality. Some other tasks are journaling first thing in the morning. This did help me for a while (especially when I was at University) to get my mind in the right path and understand how I am feeling first thing in the morning and where I want to go about my day. Even the thought of the tasks that I want to do through the day can be helpful.

Don’t start your morning off by laying in bed on your phone. Instead pick up either a book or a journal. I’m about to sound like an insane nerd, but I will pick up a dictionary in the morning and learn some new words and understand the meanings to those words. I know it sounds crazy, but it helps me to expand my mind and start my day off with a productive mindset.

Again your productive mindset is started both the night before and the morning of. Set your mind to productivity and keep that mindset throughout the day. You will notice how much it changes you.

9.) The power of Timers

Ahh, timers are not just for cooking. Timers are great for those who want to get tasks done in a certain time. Setting simple 10-15 minute timers can help to get work done because it is a mind game of wanting to get something completed before the time is up. Think of it like driving and your GPS says you’ll arrive at your destination in 45 minutes, when you in the back of your mind will try to be there before 45 minutes. That is the same mindset with doing work. Having a time frame can help to try to get as much work done. Even when you are taking a break, set a timer for how long you want to take a break and once it is done, get up and get back to work.

I set timers for pretty everything. Your timer, just like your planner, will be your best friend. Timers help with simple tasks and even difficult tasks. Just to break up your day. Say you do one project for about 15 minutes and set a timer for that task. Then take a small break and set a new timer for a different task or the same task if you didn’t fully complete it.

Timers might seem old school, but if you want to be productive but also have small breaks then get back to motivation, timers will help you a lot. I started using timers in college because I would get carried away with my work and it helped me to structure my day a little bit better. It will take time to get used to it, but it starts to become easier and easier as time goes by.

10.) Set aside time for family/friends

Try to set aside time for your family and friends. This can be a weekly thing or a daily thing. Don’t be so confined in your work mindset, it’s okay to be social with those you love. Many times we will keep putting family and friends below work time. Studies have shown that spending time with family and friends will help you actually stay productive. You are spending time with them instead of it always being work. Family and friend time is so important. It shows that you don’t always have to be in work mode and having that time with them reminds you and them that breaking the cycle can increase your mood and make you notice the constant love and support you receive.

11.) Make time for yourself through the day

Yes take time for yourself! This can be simple tasks such as checking social media or even watching one episode of a television series. Yes one, don’t go binge watching. Taking time for yourself can be helpful in your productivity because you are not cramming deadlines and everything else in your brain. You are separating your time. Even take a day to just focus on yourself. You can even plan a day for yourself. Take yourself out to lunch, go for a drive and do things that make you happy. Simple things that make you feel good about yourself, helps a lot with motivation and productivity because you are taking time for yourself instead of constantly being in check. This is where small breaks can help.

For the longest time, I never took a break or took time for myself, but now it helps me structure my day. For me going to the gym helps me so much so find what helps you.

12.) Music can help in more ways

Music is very helpful for many. Just plug those headphones in and get to work. If you are just starting out to get onto a productive lifestyle, instrumental music has helped me tons. Don’t pick songs that have words in them because you are more optimized to start singing instead of focusing then that leads you to end up on YouTube (trust me I know it does). Usually soft sounds waves can be relaxing, but there are also times where listening to music with a consistent beat helps. Over time, music can become a distraction so working in silence with a fan can also help with productivity. It’s a constant sound that is going off, to help you stay and maintain focus. The simple buzz of a fan has a relaxing aspect to it.

You can always create playlists for different events when working on productivity. When I would do homework I would listen to rock or when I read I listen to calming music that helps me to stay focused. Also I try to connect the music I listen to to relate it to the theme of the work. Hey if you really want to get work done and feel powerful, listen to Star Wars, trust me you’ll feel powerful as though you can take on anything.

13.) Limit distractions

The typical, limit your distractions. It’s hard at first, but over time it does get easier, but let’s be honest we all struggle with it. Yes, social media is a big distraction when it comes to wanting to get work done. If you need to have your phone in close proximity to you, then do so, but put it in a best drawer. If you don’t need it near you put it on the other side of the room. Many iPhones have the “time limit” feature where you can customize your phone usage. But make sure you stick with it. Don’t press that ignore limit or allow for 15 minutes.

14.) Give your mind and body a break

Many times when we start to work we will tend to over work ourselves to the point of exhaustion. During those times it’s time to re-evaluate what your schedule looks like. Many times all we need to do is give our minds and body a break. This doesn’t always mean to get off your computer and lay in bed, but this means to get outside of your work area. Go outside and go for a walk and get some fresh air. This helps clear your mentality and gives your body a way to move out of its situation that it is confined in.

Getting outside is a big way to help clear your mind and get your body moving and it’s a simple act to do because there are so many beauties in this world that staring at a computer screen can take a lot of energy. Fresh air and nature is the best remedy to go for when you are starting to feel overwhelmed when working. Spend however much time you want, but don’t forget you still have some work to get done. But during this outside time, don’t always think about work.

There are many times where I will take some phone calls on a walk because I don’t need to sit in front of a computer screen. If you can take something on a walk with you, do it. It can really help you so you’re not stuck in one place.

15.) Healthy Snacks and Hydration

Snacking is a huge thing when it comes to being motivated and productive. Snacking in between your big meals helps with your brain to continuously go go go. It helps you to stay focused on material so you are not all of a sudden lagging on the work you are wanting to complete. But always try to go for snacks that are healthy such as berries, veggies, crackers, unsalted popcorn, yogurt, etc. Try to avoid snacks that are unhealthy because those snacks will bring your energy down and make you feel as though you can’t get through the work you want. Fruit and veggies will always be the best snacks when doing work. You can eat unlimited amounts and still have so much energy to get enough work done. You will also feel full in a good way instead of feeling full in a bad way. Having nutrient dense foods keeps your mind going and helps you stay focused throughout the day.

I always go for some homemade granola and a huge bowl of blueberries or bananas and apples. Fresh fruit is always a go to when doing work.

Hydration is also very important. Keep a water bottle next to you at all times. If you are wanting to stay in one spot for a while then make sure you have water near you. The tip if you are trying to work on drinking more water is to add some flavor like lemons, cucumber or limes. Adding this will give you the desire to drink more water. Yes you might have the tendency to go to the bathroom more, but during those times you are cleaning out your system and keeping your body hydrated throughout the day.

16.) Understand that it is okay to get distracted from time to time, but notice it and create a time for yourself to get back to work. Get that motivation back!

Know that it is okay if you get distracted! We are all humans and it’s a part of our nature. But once you realize you are getting distracted, really take the steps to notice it and try again. Everything is trial and error. Working on staying focused and motivated as much as possible can be difficult, but over time it starts to become easier.

If you’re like me, you tend to get in a work vortex without taking a break, but sometimes you need to take a break.

Getting distracted isn’t a bad thing. It’s natural and it happens. Realize it, take note, and continue on. It’s not always going to be perfect all the time, just take the time and through many trials you will get there.

So to finish this off, I hope that these pointers help out some of you. One thing I always say is to find what works best for you. Sometimes what works for me can resonate with others and sometimes it won’t and that is okay. Understand your triggers and know what you need to do to act upon it.

We aren’t all perfect and that is okay! Sometimes we fall but we just need to realize it and get back up. That doesn’t always mean in sports or our career paths that even goes for staying motivated and being productive throughout the day.

Hope you take something from this and figure out what is truly best for you and your work schedule. These have helped me plan so much and get a lot of work done throughout my days and weeks. Take some of the tips and try it out to see what helps and if it does keep going. You might surprise yourself.

Stay Motivated Everyone!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Megan

Hi everyone,

My name is Megan. I am a professional dancer, but I have a big passion with research, writing from personal experiences, nutrition, fitness, astronomy and so much more.

I want to continue my love for writing and share my stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.