Motivation logo

Three Portals

*For each portal a different view, into a finite, perfect, painting of the masterpiece, we call life*

By Carrisa LynnePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
*The Three Portals*

Lying here, on this full sized bed, I can’t help but notice and bask in the beauty of what I see. Three large windows, creating such a power of illumination, in the space I call my bedroom. Even on a cloudy morning, such as today, the natural light tries to sneak into each individual, tiny square opening of screen. You can see every ounce of that desperate light bouncing off the white trim of the window, creating a soothing natural glow. Even the swirl texture of the glittered ceiling catches the sliver of rays and twinkles like the stars in the night sky. Creating such relaxation and tranquility for the well rested mind.

I can’t help but notice each separate collection of window panes create a different portal to a new view, a different scenery, a finite, perfect, painting of the masterpiece, we call life. Each with similarities and differences. Each has its own unique perspective to offer.

The portal to my left, filled with green, the most beautiful green, the type of green only observed on the leaves of summer in New England. A grand green, a powerful green, and a strong green. Each individual leaf representing a life sprouted from a long, cold winter. Supported by strong, brown tree branches, as mighty as the trunk itself. It covers the view past those window panes. Even in the city, there can be nature found all around. To be able to have it shown right outside my window, is a blessing no doubt. As I continue to look I see the clear representation of a window on the house across the street. At this moment, I wonder to myself, "can they see what I see? Maybe….but to know they have a portal, with a view, just like me, is pretty sweet!"

The middle one, is dressed up by a golden yellow macrame piece, crafted by my younger sister. This piece hangs from a small clear command strip strategically placed in the middle of the bold, white head trim of the window. Reminding me, even though she resides in Australia, she is always close to my heart. As I look at this piece I can see the detail and precision of each string carefully wrapped around one another, attached to a tan colored rod, creating an artistic product that is truly treasured. Not too far below I can see two, thick, black telephone wires passing by through the exposed piece of cloudy gray sky. Creating shadows on my floor of two parallel lines, when the sun shines through the clouds just right. I take a moment to appreciate the ability for electricity. As I continue to look I can see the grand, the powerful, and the strong green continuing to stand out in this gateway of view. I see the leaves from the strong tree, cascade from the previous portal into this one. Creating such a natural, beautiful, flow of life, right before my eyes. This same green can be seen from the tree across the street. Still remarkably detailed. Still just as crisp, from one leaf to another. As I stare more intently I notice the exposing of black, white, and emerald street signs on a busy one way road. Each sign intently placed to lead the way, apartments stacked high and houses strategically spaced out, like a perfectly mapped out project. How perfect to see the neighborhood homes, to know I am truly not alone. This area is filled with houses condensed and not too far apart. The outskirts of Boston have this in common. Before drawing my attention away to the next, I notice a composition of purple, right above the lower part of this scene. The neighboring house has a beautiful arrangement of bright fresh flowers. What an elegant touch.

The portal furthest to the right, again, presents with the view of the cloudy gray sky disrupted with two, thick, black parallel lines passing by like a couple of electrified twins. Not much different than the one before. The sight of the grand green, the powerful green, and the strong green is noted behind the light blue, maybe even gray house in the distance. In this view I take note, of the many different representations of windows on this particular home. “So many portals they have…so lucky they are,” I think to myself. I notice each side of the roof, connects at a sharp point, how precise, to line up so right. With perfect precision this house was created to maintain an aesthetic that is pleasing to the eye. I can’t help but think of how excited I will be when I get to create a home of my own. A few patches of the grand, the powerful, and the strong green quickly grabs my attention, again, just above the bottom of the window sill. What a beautiful contrast this painting creates.

As I draw my attention back to the perspective of the three portals in clear view, I can’t help but be filled with immense gratitude. I’m humbled by the ability to have a secure, safe, and comfortable space. To have a home. To have three portals right in front of me. To have the ability to open my eyes on this morning, to such a sight. I am blessed beyond measure to witness this beautiful gift, a painting, a masterpiece, into the view of what we call life.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Carrisa Lynne

💫 Writer, Creator, & Coach 💫

☀️ An ever-evolving soul set on a purpose to inspire unconditional Love & Joy alongside cultivating connection through showcasing the raw, authenticity of being apart the human experience on the daily ☀️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.