Motivation logo

Thoughts and Beliefs

One drives you. The other could ruin you.

By Connor WarmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Thoughts come and go. Beliefs are something you hold onto.

We all have a lot of thoughts every day. Some we believe and some we don't. Some we think are useful and others we think are utterly meaningless.

I believe it is possible to think you can't do something while at the same time believe that you can. Some of the things I've attempted in my life to date are things that I don't necessarily think I can do. Yet, some small part of me believes that I can do it. Let me use a quick example. I'm planning an event for myself that will consist of a 10 thousand meter row every hour for 30 hours. Do the quick math and you quickly figure that to be 300,000 meters of rowing. A big number without question. My initial thought is I can't do that. Yet, a part of me believes that I can. However, that part is not something I can simply tap into. It has to be earned. I believe that there's a place I can go mentally and physically which will drive me to finish that event. The hard part is I don't know where I'm going to have to go and how dark that place will be once I get there. But I know and I believe deep down that it's there and that it's in the realm of possibility.

What I will be fighting throughout the event are my thoughts and my emotions that will come and go like the wind. I'll have highs and lows, dark moments, and great ones. Yet, the battle will be keeping those under control. I have to continually remind myself that what I'm feeling in the moment doesn't define me. My thoughts don't define me. My beliefs do. I have to break it down in order to tap into that belief and confidence that I know is buried deep inside. If I hang around long enough and don't quit I'm going to build more and more confidence, allowing that belief to get a louder voice as I get further into the event. Take March Madness for example. Underdogs are always pulling off crazy upsets during the tournament. Why? Because they keep themselves in the game long enough that they start to believe they can do it. They start to believe they belong. This event is no different. I have to stack together small victories and keep my head down and focused on the task at hand. That's the real challenge. Staying in the moment and not letting my mind wander to that big 300,000 number.

I have to ask myself basic questions throughout such as, Can I row under a 3:00 pace(The pace to finish each 10k in under an hour)? Yes, I can. Then when that doesn't work it's, Can I get to the next 1,000-meter mark? Yes, I can. Then when that fails it becomes, Can I get to the next 500-meter mark? Yes, I can. And as those numbers continue to fall and those strategies and thoughts continue to fail me it comes down to, Can I pull this thing one more time? Yes, I can. That's where the magic is. If I can pull this rower handle time and time again eventually I'll achieve my goal. It may be slow, boring, and repetitive but I'll get there. My real challenge is controlling my thoughts while keeping my eyes set on my beliefs.

This isn't a physical challenge. Physically, no matter what I do, my body will break down. I'm anticipating that. But mentally I can stay strong. I can battle my thoughts and my discomforts. As my friend, Tosh says "Those bumps and bruises, those aches and pains, they get a vote, sure. But they don't drive decisions around here. Your mind does".

If I let all of my thoughts control my actions I will fail within the first 10 hours. What I need to do is get out my shovel and dig for that belief that I know is in there. Let the thoughts come and let the thoughts go while keeping my focus and energy on finding that place and mental state that believes this can be done. The goal of this mission is much bigger than hitting 30 hours. It's about unlocking a part of me that I didn't know I had. This is about finding that next gear.

I don't even think I can do it. Great, that's how you want to play it?

I'll see you on the rower.

Get After It.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Connor Warman

A CrossFit Coach and Podcaster's perspective on life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.