Motivation logo

This Year, Resolve to Do Better!

One small action that helps one person could yield big results if everyone did it.

By Thomas G RobinsonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
I’m in my car ... trying to be gracious, yeah? (Photo by Tomás)

A couple years ago I made a new year resolution that was good for me, good for the commuter, and good for humanity. It lasted a whole four months!

I didn’t take it as a failure, the fact that it lasted four months was something good either way for me, and for the party who got to take advantage of my graciousness.

Yes, my graciousness.

Perhaps I should explain what my resolution is before I go any further. It is something so simple that anyone can take part in it and it doesn’t have to be at the beginning of the year (even though I started January 1st).

And, if everyone took part in this - my new year resolution - our country ... no, the world (the world!) would be a better place. So, it’s not too late to join this. You can start at any time!

I’ve piqued your interest, yes? Good.

So, what is my resolution? It can be described in three words. “Let ‘em in”.

What does that mean to you? Just as it states ... let ‘em in.

You’re driving in your car, the traffic is thick and this guy to the left wants to get in front of you so he can take the next off ramp. What do you normally do? You say, “Ahh hell no, screw that guy!” And you floor it to ensure not only does he not get in, but he gets a big “fuck you” to boot!

That’s ’Merica. That’s the American way. And that’s the way we like it, right? Really? Well, it shouldn’t be.

One of the things I really dislike about our current state of mind here, is that all of a sudden it’s okay to be rude to one another. It’s okay to call the cops on minorities who are doing legal things in legal and public places – like BBQ’ing! It’s okay to kick-off, no … to drag, pull and injure a paid passenger off of a public airplane flight because they oversold his flight, and someone (who, apparently, was more important to the airliner) wanted to be seated. So, they forced him out of his seat and off the plane – and he was already seated! So – add to that crowding cars just wanting to get in your lane? Enough already! Can’t we all just get along?

Because, all that does is to further this overwhelming feeling of gloom we already feel in this country. We further the gloom. We foster the gloom. And, that can’t be good. It isn’t.

But all that does is to further this overwhelming feeling of gloom we already feel in this country. We further the gloom. We foster the gloom. And, that can’t be good.

So, since January 1st, I’ve been letting ‘em in.

I see a guy saying, please ... whimpering pretty much - “pleeeease let me in, I’ve been trying to get off this highway for three years, and no one will let me in!!” So, out of the sheer kindness of my heart (and because I’ve resolved to) I let ‘em in.

He thanks me by giving me that prized response all drivers yearn for, the elusive “thank you wave”. A gesture so powerful it could end wars.

Think about it. If Commander Yomamoto had given Roosevelt a “thank you wave” instead of dropping bombs over Pearl Harbor, well ...? I digress.

The feeling you get from doing this is something like “warm and cozy”. Or, really, it just feels nice. And the best thing is, you can do it anywhere.

You can do it on the highways, the interstates, and you can do this on city streets. Hell, you can do this at the register at your favorite grocers. If someone just wants to buy a Coke, and you’ve got a full basket - let ‘em in.

Hopefully, this time around, I’ll last longer than April I will make every effort to continue this crusade If everyone does this it just may happen.

As I’ve stated, you don’t have to wait until next year to start this resolution. You can begin right now. Anytime. It would be the kind thing to do. It could be the good thing to do. It would be the ‘Merican thing to do!

But, mostly, it is the nice thing to do.

Happy New Year!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Thomas G Robinson

A grandfather, father, son, brother, and friend. He's also a student in a masters program, artist, singer/songwriter, actor, writer & college grad making it through each day scathed, damaged and broken ... but, he’s still making it! Kinda.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.