Motivation logo

This is Why Your Life Sucks

Unsolicited Advice You Need

By Hailey Stevens- Your Provider of Unsolicited AdvicePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
This is Why Your Life Sucks
Photo by Simone Secci on Unsplash

This is Why Your Life Sucks

So, who begins a sentence with so? Apparently me. Today I decided to start a blog. Why? Well, mostly I thought “What the Hell, maybe someone will read this, and if they don’t, they don’t, and I’ll delete it and pretend it never happened.” I may very well be doing that. So, if you are someone that got the great pleasure of reading this before I took it down, congrats and I hope it made you laugh at my lack of grammatically correct sentences. But for anyone that read and it helped you the slightest bit. That’s why I wrote this. For you. To preface I will tell you, I’m not taking the nice route on this, it’s some tough love, but if you decided to read based on the title, and based on what you’re going through, you might need it.

Here’s the thing people. Stop being so damn self involved and worried about nothing and look up and look at life. There’s plenty of good. You just blind yourself by all the bad. But you and your negativity are making your life suck. Your life doesn’t suck because your Starbucks order got messed up. So what, you didn’t get whipped cream? You probably didn’t need it. And it’s not a big deal.

Oh, am I being insensitive? I am sincerely sorry, really my apologies. Are you depressed? That’s probably why you read this in the first place. Well, guess what? Me too. Every day. And you know what I don’t do? I don’t set around and complain and whine that I didn’t get what I wanted. I take responsibility. I know I’m lazy, I know I should work out, I should eat right, be a better friend, girlfriend, sibling, child, I should stop feeling sorry for myself, and so should you. Is absolutely anything getting better by fretting and complaining and feeling sorry for yourself? I’m gonna take a wild guess and say that’s a big fat NO. Tired of me asking and answering my own questions? Feel free to leave.

Dammit, did I just lose my only reader?

Start living for now and stop thinking about what life will be like when you're 16 ,18, 21, 25, or dreading 30 years old. Any other significant ages before people want to stop aging? No? Good. Here’s the thing, you can sit and be mad at life for not giving you what you wanted or you can buck up and take what you want. Work harder, because trust me someone's working harder than you are. Also trust me, someone else is cheating and making you think they have it all when really their life sucks more than yours. Do it right, do it well, and work hard.

Let me tell you a story. There once was a girl so sad, so depressed, so hopeless, so anxiety filled, and so overwhelmed, she couldn't make do a lot of the time. That girl is me. Still is. Won’t change. Point is I can choose to be terribly depressed and lay on the couch all day. Or I can say to myself “What am I doing?” and I do this on a regular basis. And the conclusion is, my life sucks because of me. Not because of anyone else, not because I do or don’t have this or that, but because of me. And your life sucks because of you. Sorry to break it to you but if you're still reading this you probably needed to hear that, or read it.

Let me ask you a few questions, and you go ahead and answer them for yourself.

One-What is making your life so bad?

Two-Why are you bothered by this thing?

Three-Why have you not changed it?

And Four, are you scared about it?

Figure it out, and change it. Don’t know how? It’s simple. Stop caring, and not about yourself, about what others think. We value other's opinions of ourselves more than we value our own opinions of ourself. It’s sad. I’m guilty as well, so don’t worry, you're not alone. But you never were. Even when you were feeling bad for yourself, someone had it worse. Remember that. And remember life isn’t easy. It’s actually really freaking hard. But you know what, we only get better by living through the shit and appreciating the good times.

I’m about to make your life better if you just listen. If I put it in all capital letters will it help? STOP FEELING SORRY FOR YOURSELF! Everyone is struggling, it’s not just you. So stop being such a big baby and if something is wrong, fix it, change it. You’re the only one who can. Nobody else can do it for you. Yeah, maybe you have to take a big risk, maybe you have to have two dollars in your bank account. I actually currently do. And there is no money planning to go in there any time soon. Am I crying about it? No. And you shouldn’t be either. There are worse things.

Positivity is a beautiful thing. And let me stop you before you think what you’re thinking. I know this whole article has seemed negative, maybe even condescending, but that was not the purpose, it’s called tough love and if you can’t take it, like I said before, leave. The exit button is in the top right corner. Point being, if you're sitting around feeling sorry for yourself, or crying,or laying in bed, or sitting in the dark. Fine. But don’t expect anything to get better. For things to change, you have to be a catalyst for your own change. I've deducted from living this way for a long time that it does nothing for anyone, including yourself. So if you can learn from my mistakes and vulnerability then please do. Please ask yourself the questions I posed. They are not hard questions. The answers might be hard, but that is exactly why the question is asked. Nothing worth fighting for is easy, it’s worth it though, and that’s why it gets done.

Yeah, I wish life was fair. I wish talents and the opportunity for enhancing those talents were evenly dispersed, but it’s not. I wish people would ask others if they were happy, rather than about their job, their marriage, or their vacation. I wish people would take an interest and say “Are you happy.” Because the things we have don’t define us. I wish we all got 1000 bucks deposited in our bank accounts everyday. But, wish I may because THAT’S NOT GOING TO HAPPEN. Nor does 1000 dollars in my bank account everyday make me any happier whatsoever. Start working, and do not be confused when I say that. I mean start working on yourself. YOU. Change anything that is not bettering you, because if it’s not helping, it’s hurting. Help yourself. You are responsible for your own happiness. So start making it happen. Not tomorrow, not next Monday, not next month. Now. Could it be a shit show? Yes, it very well might be. But the big question: Will you be happier after all is said and done? The answer is yes.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Hailey Stevens- Your Provider of Unsolicited Advice

Hey there! I'm Hailey! I write about life improvement, religion, mental health, occasional rants, and the art of not giving a fuck. To sum it up, I'm the Queen of unsolicited advice. I hope you enjoy & get a laugh from my work!

xoxo, hails

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.