Motivation logo

They Have come

Poem

By RobertPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
They Have come
Photo by ergonofis on Unsplash

Today my mother and sisters

came to see me.

I had been alone a long time

with my poems, my pride . . . almost nothing.

My sister the oldest---is grown up,

is blondish. An elemental dream

goes through her eyes: I told the youngest

"Life is sweet. Everything bad comes to an end."

My mother smiled as those who understand souls

tend to do;

She placed two hands on my shoulders.

She's staring at me . . .

and tears spring from my eyes.

We ate together in the warmest room

of the house.

Spring sky . . . to see it

all the windows were opened.

And while we talked together quietly

of so much that is old and forgotten,

My sister the youngest interrupts:

"The swallows are flying by us."

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.