Motivation logo

Theatre dream

Theatre

By Amanda ChristiansenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

You know everyone has dreams, I have one dream, and that is to be on stage, telling a story. I did a few shows in school but i was always in the ensemble, I feel like I was never given the chance, I would go to shows and watch other students perform and think to myself "I could do this if I was just given a chance."

So the shows I was in were pretty fun, I remember being in Suessical Jr. I was a bird girl and it was o fun. later in high school I was in 110 in the shade and I think that was the most fun show I had been in I loved being able to sing and just be in character and forget about the fact that i was being bullied.

There was one point I was doing Christmas Carol on the air and they were going to pull it because they felt like people were not taking it seriously, now you have to understand I had watched these people perform this show before and I knew they could do it, so I spoke up and told them how I had watched this show before and that I knew how capable they were. Because I had done that I was given an extra part in the show.

After I was done with school I tried to go out for community theatre but I still to this day have not been given the chance, Now I know dreams take work and sometimes you have to take steps toward fulfilling that dream which I did. A couple years ago I saw an ad for an auditioning master class, I immediately signed up and little did I know it would change my life.

Now I was a little nervous considering I had not gotten along with teachers in the past but the second the teacher walked in the building I knew that it was meant to be. You see the teacher had done theatre for years and I quickly came to like her and her style of teaching so I put my whole trust in her and did just as she asked me.

Now let me tell you a little about this teacher, she is absolutely amazing, she has been on stage for most of her life, she has performed on Broadway, I actually got the chance to see her in a show and oh my gosh, absolutely amazing, I literally spent so much money going to see her in the show, the character she played was so polar opposite of her personality but she nailed it.

Not only does this teacher help me with my singing career, she has become a mentor to me, I can literally go to her with anything, she listens and hears me. she knows what I can handle and she pushes me to do my best.

At the end of this class there was a showcase where each student would get up and perform and the person who got the most votes would get to go to a show with the teacher, who I had become good friends with so I put my whole heart into it, it was such an emotional moment, I ended up getting second place and got to go to the show.

The next step I took towards this dream was I started doing private voice lessons with the same teacher and I still to this day still take lessons to try and better my voice, I cannot even begin to tell you what this teacher has done for me, she has changed my life for the better, she continues to work with me and help me to pursue this dream which I will never be able to repay her.

Dreams take work, I know that being in theatre is not just handed to you, and i will work so hard, but I'm here to tell you to never give up, always work hard to get where you wanna be, people will try and bring you down and tell you no and that your not good enough but you just have to keep going. I know I will be on stage one day and it will be the best day. Now not to say I haven't been on stage, I have had the honor of being in forgotten carols which is a huge play they do around Christmas time and I was absolutely star struck so you can always get a glimpse of your dream. Always go after your dreams and never give up!!

Above there is a link to one of the auditions I did just recently.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Christiansen

Hey what is up, my name is Amanda, i love writing and singing, I started a love for writing in middle school.. please check out my Youtube The Daily Life Of Amanda C.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.