Motivation logo

The universe doesn’t have your back.

Good vibes only

By PrishPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The universe doesn’t have your back.
Photo by Katrina Wright on Unsplash

Dale Carnegie once said, “When dealing with people, let us remember we are not dealing with creatures of logic. We are dealing with creatures of emotion, creatures bristling with prejudices and motivated by pride or vanity.”

I spent over 5000 $ of self- books, audios, courses and videos. Did they help? Not even a teeny-weeny bit. No harm in saying that self-help books have become a billion-dollar business and all I did was contribute to it. It all started a few years back when I turned to these so-called self-help gurus for some encouragement, guidance and clarity in my life. I was given hundreds of positive self -affirmation statements to repeat, taught how to start writing a journal, learn some breathing techniques and whatnot. These will help you, never doubt yourself, leap and the net will appear; they whispered.

I did exactly as they said..day in day out. I kept hoping to see the light at the end of the tunnel. It happened sooner than I expected when one day my mum gave me two slaps and asked me to pull my 30ish years old self together and get a living. I never felt any better. I threw all my self-help books, deleted all my audios and videos and decided to move on.

Next big step was to launch my business. I never really liked the idea of working under anyone. I wanted to be my own boss, an entrepreneur — a French word that everyone seems to fancy these days. I realised that I do not even have a clue about starting a business. And again, the vicious cycle started an I went online and searched for help. I was amazed by the results. There were so many good Samaritans ready to help. Some were asking to subscribe to their websites and they will send their secrets, some had their daily emails ready to be sent out detailing exactly what you need to do to start a “lucrative” business and some were just a phone call away. All these for a few dollars which later on would be piled up more quickly than you ever imagined.

All to say that we are now living in a world of consumerism and we have become obsessed with quick-fix psychology. Anyway, going back to Carnegie who is sort of the father of this whole self-help movement, he’d be happy to know that his legacy continues. From quacks to charlatans and now self-appointed lifestyle or business gurus. Truth is that we all can help ourselves and it is definitely within all our grasps. No one knows better than ourselves about what we want. We do not need validation from anyone and once we start accepting this very fact, things will get better for most out there. Life is complicated and it sucks coupled with the fact that we are all sentient beings. Good thing is that we have an extensive compendium of knowledge to draw upon. Instead of introspecting and trying to solely look inside ourselves, some extrospection will do us a whole lot of good.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.