Motivation logo

The Unbreakable Vow

I made a pact with myself, and being that I am immensely competitive ( and kind of an obnoxious try hard), this pact will not be broken

By Kim YalongPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Unbreakable Vow
Photo by Victor Freitas on Unsplash

Ahh 2020, the year that was supposed to hold so much promise and then Covid crapped all over our plans. But here we are! Underwhelmed, a little lost, slightly more cuddly than we were two years ago. Covid really did a number. But that's all over now, 2021, you've got a lot to offer.

Last year I heavily tossed around the idea of nutrition, health, fitness, looking good naked, being an "Instagram fitness influencer" and anything else that looked like "fitness. Ironically, I usually had these fantasies while downing a pizza. I know, I judged me too. This year I decided instead that I am going to focus on my overall health and wellbeing. This includes mind, body and soul. I know that sounds corny, cliche, a little bit overdone but for me, I know that I am in a place where it needs to be a priority. I can't keep looking at fitness models, telling myself, " yeah I can look like that one day", while actively smashing through a burger six times a week.

Three years ago I was told by a doctor to lose weight or die. Literally. He clearly had a wonderful bedside manner but he did set me on the right path. Up until 2020, I was doing alright actually. I had lost 30kg naturally, training 3-4 times a week and contemplating my next steps. Then life happened, I gained a bit of weight (cute, I gained 20kg), entered into a toxic relationship with my work and drove myself into the ground. 2020 was not kind to me, nor I to it.

This year, I am going to focus on healthy habits and correcting the course I originally started. I have committed to the following:

1. Finish studying Diploma of Sports Nutrition

2. Enrol and complete Cert III and IV in Fitness

3. Commit to consistently moving my body each day, and heading to gym 4x a week for weight training

4. Learning how to properly fuel my body for optimal health

5. Practicing gratitude and mindfulness every day

I have already taken steps for a few of these goals. As I write this, I have just come back from a gym session where I definitely reminded myself just how far we have to go. But every goal has a destination so I am okay with the grind. I have exited my horrible relationship with work, found a company that supports me and my goals and even allows me to work from home (winner). I have completed two modules for my diploma and decided which facility I would like to do my fitness certificates in. I am well on my way and I am proud of the progress thus far.

My issue is that I am incredibly impatient, got a little bit of a God complex and know that I struggle with failure. This year though, I want to work towards that greater good, the one where I do achieve all my goals and can go on to teach others how to live a healthy lifestyle, move in a meaningful way and be incredibly proud with who they are. In the process, I will get my own mind and body to a point where I am happy with who I am and what I see.

I aware these are some lofty goals, but I am a big picture kind of person and frankly, I want to look good naked. I have also (quietly) committed to myself that once we reach this goal in 2021, I will look to compete in WBFF 2022 in the Transformation Division. This is MASSIVE for me, as moving from heavily overweight to stage ready potential is going to take some seriously hard work, a lot of guts, probably going to have to put down the tequila (ouch) and focus on the goal. I can see it, I can visualise it, let's get it!.

I think making new years resolutions can be tacky, so let's call this a "fresh start" goal. Because you know what, I made it at the beginning of the year, but I am working on a lifestyle change, so it's more of a "get it together" resolution without a 12 month timeline.

2021, are you ready for me? Because I am ready for you. Also, I want to look good naked so please don't shut the gyms again.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Kim Yalong

Health - Nutrition - Mindset

I love to write, to share my knowledge and break down the health and fitness industry into bite sized pieces because frankly, it's overwhelming. Just here to spread some knowledge and flex my creative muscles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.