Motivation logo

The Un-Experiment (the beginning)

A new weekly blog post

By Heather HublerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
9

It was on my mind for some time to start a blog, but the subject matter eluded me. I brainstormed for days and then brainstormed some more until I came to the completely rational conclusion that I had no good ideas, or at least none that made any kind of cohesive sense.

My struggle continued for weeks, so I let it go. Disgusted with myself, really.

I refused to even look at my online writing accounts during that time. You know, because that was the mature thing to do. I didn’t even write on my fiction account. I was a hot mess.

The pressure to do something great, to be something great was too prominent in my thought process. And I was admittedly having an online identity crisis. Who did I want to be? What did I want to say?

It should have felt freeing to create a new “me,” but instead felt suffocating.

After a few weeks of total self-loathing and inaction, I decided to just look through my book of ideas again. Granted, time had not been kind to ninety percent of that content–it was utter crap–but there were a few ideas that stood out to me as having some kind of merit.

So I went back to reading countless articles on starting a blog, what to include in a blog, and how to make a successful one. And I was stumped again.

The more time I spent looking for expert opinions, the perfect name, and the most clever tagline, the more I began to loathe the idea of starting this blog altogether. Thankfully, one of my best friends kept encouraging me to keep going.

So I did. And then I hit more roadblocks as I began to really investigate my concepts online. I was sure that I was so witty, so original. The inventive names I'd labored over, the concept ideas I thought would be niche were taken. Name after name, idea after idea.

Weirdly enough, it was simultaneously depressing and inspiring. This revelation meant I had to start over again, stretch myself for even more ideas. But it also meant I felt a sort of kinship with the amazing people out there that were already taking our ideas and doing something with them. We hadn't even met and probably never would, but we were connected on some creative level.

What should have been a situation that shut me down again, instead renewed my excitement. And I went back to the drawing board with a renewed sense of purpose.

It took me a bit longer to discover that I really just wanted to do this for me–what a concept! And that it was ok to do it that way. In fact, more than ok.

I want readers out there who may want to become writers to just do it. Believe in yourself and enjoy what you do. Maybe you won’t make a profit or be listed as a top blogger, but self-satisfaction is just as important, if not more.

So, I’m unveiling The Un-Experiment.

I do love a good theme, so I’ll be writing pieces about anything and everything that interests me, with the catch that there will always be a word that starts with “un” in the title.

I hope you’ll join me in my journey and maybe even start your own.

Until we meet again,

Heather

Note: I wrote this several months ago and then didn't follow through, sigh. I did start the next post, but never finished it. I've been focusing more on writing short stories and poetry since then, but I'm ready to get back into this! I hope to publish one a week.

** I'll be posting these over on my Medium account as well if you'd like to join me there.

advice
9

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron2 years ago

    And a VERY merry unblog to you! LOL! Lord knows I labored with the same thing. I'm looking forward to seeing your posts! Great job!

  • Big hugs and good to be doing something. I'm putting together a book of poems which is a trial, and so wrote a villanelle about not writing. I'm with you on this

  • Jessica Cook2 years ago

    I can totally relate to these feelings.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Great piece. I agree, do it for you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.