Motivation logo

The Struggle Is Real

Why It’s Okay to Struggle

By Salina LehnPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Falling into a pit of utter failure while eating your last box of rice and beans can feel a bit like you will never get out. Some days it may be struggle to get out of bed because you feel like you are going to get nowhere or that you just can’t do it. Getting sucked into your negative thoughts as if they are a vacuum piling the dirt and dust of your life, all into one spot. Stagnate and stuck like it’s never going to go away.

Let me tell you... eventually that vacuum get emptied. All the hardships and ugly times go away and it feels like nothing has happened. The fears and the struggles you once had can disappear as fast as they came. But it doesn’t happen by itself.

It take hard work, determination, positive thinking, a great support system, and a whole lot of gratitude towards everyone around you.

I was once told that I wouldn’t be put in any situation that I couldn’t handle. Going from the craziest toxic relationships to having huge money problems to hitting rock bottom and back around has put me through the ringer. In all those moments of crying to myself or putting on a happy face in front of my kids or walking away from the insanity of a “relationship” I had, I never once lost determination to be successful for myself.

It’s the drive in myself that kept me going. It’s the amazing people that I had in my support system. It’s the researching different ways to cut my costs or for free entertainment for my children and I to save money. It’s the gratitude and the thankfulness that I gave every single person who helped me out ever in my life. It’s the giving back and paying it forward whether it was donating a pack of diapers to a single mom or a whole wardrobe of clothes because I have been there. It’s being a friend or just someone who is willing to listen to anyone.

Being aware of this is something that keeps you determined to get out of your rut. I encourage everyone to never give up hope and to always know that there is others out there going through worse and to show empathy to people who come your way.

Do not let others drag you down either. Your support system’s purpose is to be there to lift you and give advice, whether you take it or leave it. If your support is being negative with no solution for you, they are not a support system.

Have no fear on stepping out of your comfort zone because some of the greatest accomplishments are made by feeling funny or odd about what you are doing. Goals are meant to push you out of that norm you live in! It’s meant to make you more successful.

By all means- VENT! However, vent with solutions! Find that trusting person that you can talk to. Sometimes it’s to yourself by writing, such as myself. Find what way works for you.

Do not let being in your funk get in the way of living your life! It’s too short to always have a down side. Look at the silver lining of things. Where there is a downside there is always some kind of good that comes out of it whether it is a life lesson or more time spent.

I can only hope that this helps anyone reading this in any way shape or form, but in reality the only person that can help you is you. So don’t be afraid of change. Always take in every moment and memory of life whether it is good or bad. One day you will look back and realize it was all worth it!

self help
Like

About the Creator

Salina Lehn

I am a single mom of three beautiful kids. Love to write in my free time on things going on or that have happened in my lifetime. Hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.