Motivation logo

The Struggle Is Real

You never miss something until it has gone.

By J Published 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Independence. Motivation. Consistency. Freedom.

All of these are some of what I am currently lacking.

Four years ago, I completely transformed my life. I moved out for university and was finally able to fulfill my goal of living a healthy lifestyle. Being Indian, almost everyday my mum cooked Indian dinners, which we all know is unhealthy. I was a big girl and very uncomfortable in my own skin. Therefore, once I moved out, I gained independence and the freedom to do as I desire. I started off by filling up my fridge and cupboards with food which is good for you with the occasional treats. I found healthier substitutes and the best thing I ever did was plan my meals. I tracked my calorie intake and the macros. You would be surprised with how easily we can overeat. I noticed results fairly quickly and with the increase in confidence, I joined the gym. With the diet on track, I was able to focus on my workouts. I started of going once a week and gradually ended up going 5-6 times a week after a year or so. It became an addiction. Everyone noticed my results and the best part of all of this is I didn't follow these special diets. I ate anything I wanted in moderation.

All it took was motivation and consistency. Eating right and training hard made a huge difference. Within three years, I went from a size 18 to a size 10. I was proud of myself.

However, recently I moved back home. I lost all motivation to train and eat right. I don't like the gym near me and being unemployed has made it difficult for me to travel to a decent gym. In addition, my parents decided to redo the kitchen. With work being delayed, we have been without a kitchen for over a month. I've gained all the weight I had lost this year by eating takeouts for months. Knowing that this is temporary is helping me cope with the situation but I know once the kitchen is done and I find a job, I can cook decent meals and relocate to better gym.

I am thriving to start my normal routine. The difference is, I have the pressure of my family and of course the London city life. Living in the city means, I can't drive around without being charged and having to rely on public transport to get around.

It's a real struggle. Having lost my freedom and independence, I lost myself trying to adjust to my new surroundings. I miss my old gym. I miss the people and the workout routine. I miss being able to drive around for a maximum of 20 mins to get to work, gym or supermarkets. I was finally getting my life on track the way I wanted but never realised how short lived this chapter of my life would be.

Deep down I know I feel guilty about not training but if my diet isn't correct, the workouts are pointless. Following the 80/20 rule is key for a successful healthy lifestyle.

Despite going through a challenging time, I am remaining positive and working on my mindset. The message I want to get across is that it is ok to fall out of your routine. Just live through the temporary phase and when the time is right pick yourself up. There is no such thing as a perfect lifestyle. We all have our highs and lows. We can easily fall off track. The best thing we can do is believe it will work out for the best. Focus on getting through the days until it is all over. Once you are able to, pick up from where you left off. If you are a beginner and struggling to start, focus on getting your diet right first. Majority of people who fail, don't have an issue with the workouts but have problems with consuming the correct foods. Once you are able to maintain a healthy diet, incorporate 30-45 minute workouts when possible to get used to it. After this, you can increase your workouts. By doing this on a regular basis, you will slowly become accustomed to the routine. One thing to remember is that cheat days are also important. Once in a while do treat yourself so that you don't crave certain foods and end up binging. It is all about the balance.

Thank you for reading :)

goals
Like

About the Creator

J

Explaining life as it is

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.