Motivation logo

The Rarity of Snow

Snow Morning in the UK

By Alexandra MerrittPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Snow the Covers

Tuesday morning I awoke to a blanket of snow. This was something very unexpected. Here in the UK when snow falls, it does not promise to stick. In the region I live in, the snow seemed to keep missing us over the last few months. So, when I saw that it was to snow, I ignored it. I went about my morning keeping the blinds down, ignoring the world outside. That was until I glanced out the bathroom window and saw the hazy gleam of white. I rushed to the spare room window and gazed intently out at the white expanse before me. The snow was here and it was falling thick and fast.

Now I know that despite the falling snow sticking, it was not guaranteed to be still be so beautiful in an hour. I threw on some warm clothes and grabbed my camera. I was determined to take as many pictures of this rare phenomenon as possible. Out I went and proceeded to find the angles unique to my small garden. Marveling at the softness of the newly fallen snow. Enjoying every moment in the cold, frozen air.

Once satisfied that I had spent enough time marveling at the crisp, white snow and had enough pictures, I headed back inside to the warmth. I sat down with a steaming mug of coffee and set about my daily tasks, one eye firmly on the outside world at all times.

Sure enough, it did not last long. By noon the snow had stopped and the sun was slowly beginning to melt the snow. The world of white was slowly beginning to melt and the magical wonderland was disappearing with it. By nightfall, all that was left was patches of snow, which was hidden in dark places from the sun's weak warmth.

Life Lesson Alert!

Snow never lasts long, so enjoy it while you can, a metaphor for life I suppose. I could have easily missed the snow, simply because of my own stubbornness. I was so sure that I was right, that I was willing to miss out on something that ended up bringing joy to my otherwise dull day. In life, we have so many choices to make. We can decide to dig our heels in and miss out on precious moments in life, because we decided that they were impossible. We can decide that because of disappointments in the past, that we will shut ourselves out of potentially good things in life.

Sure, my little example of the blinds down and me almost missing the snow may seem a little far-fetched to come to that conclusion, but is it really? I think it shows how easily we can miss out on things in life, if we don't want to just let the blinds up and peep at the outside world. At the beauty that surrounds us. Who knows, you might just find freshly fallen snow blanketing the land, reminding you of the beauty that a fresh white slate can bring, before the footsteps and the melted sludge come. Everything holds beauty, everything has the potential to hold goodness, we just need to be willing to see that.

So today I challenge you to go ahead, lift up the blinds that you have pulled in your life. What is there that you are hiding from? Is it as bad as you remember? Or is there a beauty to be found within it? Just as snowfall is rare and not long lasting here, do not let yourself miss out on the beauty of the world, simply because of previous disappointments. Instead embrace it and maybe, just maybe, it might surprise you what you find there.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra Merritt

UK based photographer and writer. I am currently exploring how to get my work known and ways to make money from my passion. I hope you enjoy this journey with me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.