Motivation logo

The love of creating

Making the most of a slow start

By Maria KalafatisPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The love of creating
Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

I have always been naturally slow to wake up in the morning. Always struggling to get out of bed, and I have always seen this as time wasted. So instead of just lying in bed fighting myself to get up, what I do is I write. I write, songs, poems, short stories, book reviews. Just as long as I am writing. This is a good way to start the day for me, so I don’t feel like I am wasting time. I just love to write. I have always wanted to be an author, and what better time than right now with this pandemic going on to practice it (Since we all have the extra time now days). I find writing so calming and easy. Writing just seems so naturally to me, the words just flow out and it is such a magical feeling. Writing in the morning also wakes up my brain in the morning and gets me motivated to do something productive. It definitely does set the tone for the rest of the day.

Something that I like to do when I am writing is to have a cup of coffee and music in the background because I love coffee (it is my wakeup call) and the music puts me into a good mood.

My favourite part about writing is that I have total control. I get to choose the topic, the setting, and how the characters act. It is like creating a new world, and I am always excited to see where I can take it. I write poems and songs based on what I am felling, and it is just like therapy, since I don’t know how to properly communicate my emotions and felling’s, I write them down into art from. It is the best free therapy you can ever find. My songs and poems are like my personal diary because it is the only way I know to express myself and I find it beautiful that I can turn my emotions and felling’s into a work of art. I just love it.

I have started to write short stories because it is my escape from reality, and I have a hyper imaginative brain so those thoughts have to go somewhere, and I never knew that the short story would be a place to put them. It is great to have a daydream and then write about it, because it is weird to talk about your daydreams with your family and friends. Somethings you just need to keep to yourself, which can be dangerous as I believe that every thought and emotions needs an outlet. And my solution to that is write a short story about it.

What I find relaxing about writing is that it does declutter the brain, every thought and emotion as an outlet and is expressed in what I write. And I can do it from my bed without any judgement. I can’t think of anything better to do.

In the past I have always tried to exercise the second I got out of bed or do some house chorus, but I would always find myself just as tired when I started. Yes, my body was awake, but my brain was just not working. And when your brain is tired it is generally hard to do anything. This is the reason why writing when I wake up is now a part of my routine because it wakes me up and keeps me alert and ready for the day ahead so I can then do some exercises or some house chorus with all the energy in the world. And that is a powerful thing.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Maria Kalafatis

I am a creative writer that loves to write poems and short stories, as well and the ocasonal review on stuff that I love and enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.