Motivation logo

The Lone Goose

There are no accidents in this Universe

By Rick BeneteauPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was out on the school track for my early morning walk while visiting my daughter this summer and met up with my usual companions—a large gaggle of Canadian Geese. This tightly organized community generally splits into two groups, one to the outside of the track and one on the inside both busily grazing on the grasses. Artfully dodging goose droppings where they crisscrossed the asphalt surface became part of my exercise routine.

There seemed to be a “guard goose” at the extreme edges of each group, neck outstretched, head held high, appearing to be on lookout duty. On one occasion I got a little too close to one of the centurions while he was leading his group across the track. He turned, fiercely stared and then lunged toward me, frantically squawking through a wide open beak that was directly in the path of a body part I preferred to keep :-)

On this particular day, I passed by a goose resting, not grazing, quite a distance from either group. Something I had not seen before. Darker than the rest, I eventually noticed it walked lethargically, and my instinct told me it was old and near the end of its life. Not being an expert on the species, Branta canadensis, I didn’t know if it chose to be detached from its flock or whether it was ostracized. Regardless, I just felt sorry for the lone goose.

That got me to thinking about the end of my life. Will my years on this planet have stood for something meaningful? Will I have done my utmost to better the lives of others? Then, a more morose question invited itself in: What more could I do to avoid “deathbed regrets” that I, in fact, could have led a more purposeful life?

My attention was then drawn to one of the guardian geese and I didn’t understand why for a moment. Then it struck me, as the writer of my life and my legacy, I too must remain vigilant and do all things necessary to measure up to what amounts to my personal yardstick of my “living a giving life.” It’s something I wrote about over a decade ago in a piece I’d like to share with you now.

_____________________________________

The Legacy You Leave

All You will leave behind for the world to remember is Your Legacy, so ask yourself…

Will you have earned the respect of your peers and the admiration of your critics?

Will you have acted humbly at the peak of success and graceful in the face of defeat?

Will you have kept your childlike wonder and reveled in the beauty of the world and the small miracles that each day brought?

Will you be remembered for how often you laughed and brought smiles to the hearts of others?

Will small children and the elderly have been overjoyed to be around you?

Will others have trusted you with their innermost secrets?

Will you have forgiven and offered heartfelt apology?

Will you have looked for the very best, and done your utmost to build worth, in others?

Will you have fed a hungry child or clothed a naked man or given hope to a stranger in dire need?

Will you have left this world a better place by the life you have lived?

What Legacy will You Leave?

_____________________________________

There’s a video of The Legacy here.

Whenever I read my mantra, I realize I have more learning and growing to do. And a lot more giving. See, I believe our work on this planet doesn’t have to end with our final breath. It can live on forever and the legacy we leave can be an inspiring and enduring one. Most importantly is that it’s never too late to adjust our lives accordingly.

Back to the track.

I didn’t see the lone goose after that day. But as there are no accidents in this Universe, I know this creature was an angel sent just to remind me to walk a higher path and live a more giving life.

©Rick Beneteauwww.RichardBeneteau.com

advice
Like

About the Creator

Rick Beneteau

Former 80’s happening songwriter when divorced turned Internet marketing ‘guru’ on the-then-brand-new Internet who in 2006 became co-founder of a humanitarian non-profit who then came full circle back to music – for film and television.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.