Motivation logo

The little things are the big things

Micro-Resolutions.

By KamPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

If I had a dollar who everytime I started a New Year and saw a resolution that said - "Save money", "Lose weight", or "More self-care", I would not still be waiting on my unemployment check from August of 2020. Don't get me wrong, making resolutions can be life-changing for a lot of people, some DO save money, lose weight, and incorporate more self-care that changes their entire life and I applaud those people, I really honestly do. However, my mindset has always moved toward get gradually better, start with small things, think about one thing a day that could make it better or more manageable. My "resolutions" for the Year 2021 go as follows:

Unsubscribing

You know when you online shop at, for example, Ulta, for the first time, a pop-up window tells you to enter your email for an extra 15%? Why wouldn't you want to save 15%? Plus, the options are: Enter Your Email or clicking a button that makes you feel bad - "No, I don't like to save money." Welp, guess I'm entering my email because of course I like to save money, you bullies. Because of this, I have subscribed to more email lists than I can keep track of and it's not the first thing I want to see in the morning. So, take 15-20 minutes, depending on the amount of email lists you're on, and get rid of that shit. Get rid of that clutter. If you feel inspired after your email is pristeen, move on to your whole computer, or your iPhone. Like Marie Condo says "If it doesn't bring you joy, get rid of it." Emails from Sephora definitely aren't bringing me joy.

Pick One Book

I have a list on my phone of books on books that I've wanted to read for years, some of them, are actually already collecting dust on my shelf as we speak. It's overwhelming to have a list So instead of starting the year telling yourself to read a book a month, pick one book, and don't pick another until you finish it. Put aside 10 minutes or more, if you can spare it, a day, a week, or every two weeks to read a chapter. That way there is no deadline, there's no need to feel like you've failed if the month ends and you haven't read the first page, and when you do finish that one book, you'll be able to put a check next to it - gratifying, right?

A New Resolution each month

Just like books, I try not to get overwhelmed by trying to complete or finish a bunch of goals in a small amount of time OR trying to do one big thing that's not doable with a busy schedule. If you have a list of resolutions or goals that you'd like to check-off by the end of 2021, do it monthly. Add variation to your monthly resolution as well. For example:

February: Drink more water. When you drink your coffee or tea, grab a glass of water with it. Buy a new water bottle, take it with you everywhere. Get a reusable straw. Set water reminders on your phone. This app is great: https://apple.co/2YFq34g

March: Journal, write, critique. Watch a new TV show and write down your thoughts, yes, that counts. Go on Pinterest and look up prompts that push your creative, reflective, closed-off side. I'll get you started: https://bit.ly/3tlMn12

April: Sleep more. Try melatonin. Buy blue light glasses. Put your phone outside your room or across the room to charge. Read before bed. Take a bath. Get a new lotion with lavender. Drink sleepy-time tea. I'll link blue-light glasses here: https://amzn.to/3rf1tmZ

You get the idea of the month to month. Make your own little variations and small aids to get to your goal. Don't overwhelm yourself with one big thing. And as I tell you this, I'm telling this to myself as well. Listen to your body, listen to your brain, and most importantly, if you reach the end of the month and you didn't meet your goal - next month. That's what you tell yourself. Next month. Fresh start. January 1st is not the only day to start new, most of the time January 1st, we're all hungover anyways.

Forget the idea of do more, just try your best.

self help
2

About the Creator

Kam

My belief: Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.