Motivation logo

The Girl in the Grave

Moving Forward from Here

By Manna MacPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I spent weeks digging the grave. It was an exhausting few weeks. Everyday weighed down on me, with every shovel full of dirt I sunk deeper into the earth. It was a dark night, the night I finished the grave. I found myself admiring my work. Even in the dark, I could tell it was far deeper than it needed to be. The walls towered high, dirt and weeds crumbled a little as a gust of wind tickled through the night. I felt oddly at home in the dark cold ground. Slowly, I knelt down, sitting on the floor of the grave. I curled my knees up to my chest as I leaned my back against the wall. With my eyes closed, all alone in this deep grave I had dug, I watched my life pass before me. It started as far back as I could remember moving slowly at first. A small smile crept across my lips as I remembered back to the happiness of my childhood. A small tear scraped down my cheek as I thought of the sadness in my younger years. As the memories moved before my eyes, they quickened. I shook my head as if that would make them slow. It was like a movie on fast forward and it was my life. It went on, only coming to an abrupt stop as it ended on me looking down into a dark pit.

It was me, I was looking down on the grave I dug. I knew the girl inside was looking up at me, her heart still so pure. Even after everything she had been through she still managed to trust and love so wholeheartedly. I felt like I’d be sick. I hated the girl in the grave. She was so vulnerable, so fragile in her broken state. I hated her for letting herself crumble the way she did. She was pathetic. So I started kicking the dirt down on her. A devilish smile crept across my lips as I piled the dirt on the young thing in the grave. She deserved it, to be buried alive. I was much stronger than she could ever imagine. I would show her how strong you can be after you bury yourself alive. There’s something slightly freeing about having your heart ripped out of your chest. The first step is, we’ll crumble like the cooker you are. Then get back up. It’s the hardest part, but you’re stronger for it.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Manna Mac

Where does one start one of these? I have been writing for as long as I can remember. First story I ever wrote was at age 6, and I really haven't stopped since!

Instagram = mandie_m4

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.