Motivation logo

The Day That Never Comes

How to make each moment perfect

By The Breatharian BloggerPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
The Day That Never Comes
Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

The perfect day will never come for you to chase your destiny. For you to make that life-changing decision. For you to do that thing that moves the needle forward. The perfect time will never come. Let me explain how I know this and why waiting cost me so many precious years of my life.

Instead of waiting for the perfect moment, take the moment and make it perfect. Often in life we find ourselves waiting to do the things that we told ourselves we would do years ago. Things that we told others we would do, or that we've dreamed of doing. We're waiting but what are we waiting for? Who or what are we waiting on?

If not now, then when?

By Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Someday is a day that doesn't exist. You will never find it on any calendar. It is not one of the days in the week. Yet we are putting off things till someday. We say, "Someday I'll do it. Someday I'll make it work. Someday I'll make it happen. Someday I'll go after it." Someday never comes. Because it doesn't exist.

The other day we wait for is tomorrow. Putting off things till tomorrow can be ever worse for it convinces us that we WILL get these things done. Just not right now. But even tomorrow doesn't exist for, as soon as you get to tomorrow, another is born. So you see there is no tomorrow and there is no someday. There is only today. There is only right now. All we have is this now moment.

"Only put off until tomorrow what you are willing to die having left undone." ~Pablo Picasso

This is a statement for which I'm still striving to live up to in my life. In younger years, I was the biggest procrastinator. There are still things that I wish to do and accomplish. But I've learned that a wish is just a wish. We must turn these wishes into action. We must wake up and make our dreams a reality. What will you do, my friend? Will you whine and wish? That's what I used to do. I used to sit around, whine, wish and wonder. Pondering how and why my life wasn't the way that I thought I could be. That is not what I wish for you.

Don't Wait, Be Great!

By NordWood Themes on Unsplash

We always have it within us to choose. So write it out. Visualize as clear as you can the life you would like to lead. Design it on paper and you will achieve it on purpose. What gets written gets done, they say. Even start to speak things into existence and just do it. Act as if tomorrow does not exist. Because as far as we know, it doesn't.

I once heard a wonderful pushup analogy. People who are perfectionists often procrastinate because they're waiting for the perfect time. This is what I did for most of my life. I was waiting for the perfect moment, the perfect time that never came. Being a perfectionist is interesting because there are those of us who don't even know that we are a perfectionist.

Think of doing a pushup. You want to do the perfect pushup and you say, "Okay, well, maybe if my hands are like this. Or maybe if I try doing it this way. No, that's not right. What about this position? Or what if I wear this t-shirt while I'm doing the pushup? I want to make sure that this is perfect!" After 100 days, who is further along? The person thinking about doing the perfect pushup and hasn't done a single one? Or the person who just does it and practices doing it every day? Who has progressed more? Who becomes stronger? The answer is, the person who does it. Not the one who's thinking about doing it.

So remember, my friend, don't wait for the perfect moment. You'll be waiting a long time. Realize that, whatever excuse you give yourself for not starting, there are plenty of people doing things against all odds. People with less time, more responsibility, and less opportunity. Start to ask yourself the honest questions. "What excuse do I have not to do this today? Where will my life be if I don't do it?" Those were the questions I had to ask myself.

I can tell you what will happen in a year if you do not go for your dreams. A year will have passed. It's as simple as that. Time will not wait for us to decide. We are either moving towards pleasure or moving away from pain. Coming up, I decided that pain was the greatest teacher for me. To avoid a life of less and to avoid a life where I did not feel fulfilled. Feeling like I was not achieving my purpose, and not living a passion filled life.

Now I get to do these things and I know that, if I'm going to make something of it, I've got to make it right now. For the life you want tomorrow, you've got to live today. So get out there, don't wait, and be great!

self help
1

About the Creator

The Breatharian Blogger

Here to inspire you on your journey. ✊🏾

Connect with me on IG @jromeshaw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.