Motivation logo

The Day I Started Challenging Myself

Do one thing a day that scares you

By Chelsee HyryPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Running and me were never a thing, until 2019

I was diagnosed with exercise-induced asthma and outdoor allergies when I was seven years old. Needless to say, I’ve never been able to run. I was the kid who had a doctor's note because I wasn’t capable of running at all for gym class. Due to this, I assumed running would never be something I’d accomplish in my life. I had given up before I ever even began.

What I learned this year is that I can run. I may not be fast, but I can do it!! In March, I started working out at the gym after a long hiatus. The treadmill looked like some giant obstacle I’d never be able to conquer, but I thought I’d give it a try anyway. The first day I could only run for two minutes straight. As the days and weeks progressed, my running improved, and before I knew, it ten minutes would go by and I was still running.

Yoga and meditation has strengthened my breathing, and light weightlifting has strengthened my muscles and helped with my posture and stride. By May, I had accomplished running a mile in a little over ten minutes (on the treadmill).

I knew running outside would be different than running in the gym, so I attempted my first mile run outside and failed. I tried to keep up with my boyfriend and the dog. I wasn’t moving at my pace, I was trying to keep up with his pace. I felt defeated. Training had been going so well in the gym, yet applying that to the outdoors was challenging.

The next week though, I got my running shoes back on and ran three miles in 45 minutes. Not the best time by a long shot, but it’s a start. The start of me overcoming something I never thought possible for myself. I couldn’t give up, I wouldn’t give up. What I needed was to keep pushing forward and keep reaching towards my goal.

I ran my first 5K the end of June, and again, my time wasn’t the best, but that wasn’t what was important. What is important is that I finished it. I started this journey for myself because I wanted, no needed, to challenge myself. I’ll keep pushing on and keep running, one day moving up to a 10K hopefully.

“Do one thing a day that scares you.” Challenge yourself for you and no one else and see how amazing you feel after conquering it.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Chelsee Hyry

I’m a soul living on this beautiful earth making the absolute most out of what I’ve been given and what I’ve learned.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.