Motivation logo

The Chameleon

When Appeasing Others Makes You Lose Yourself

By J BPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

My story: the CliffNotes version. My parents were divorced before I was born. Each parent remarried. Between the two of them I went through four step-parents. I was moved across the country and back before I reached high school. I grew up with the strong notion that everything and everyone was temporary and replaceable. I never liked to grow strong attachments to anything or anyone.

Because of this and my natural need to appease and appeal to everyone, I became a chameleon. Before I could explain it in words, I would read a room and act accordingly. I would mentally take note of a mood or feeling and adapt to fit in. This has always been an extremely useful tool. People in general seem to enjoy my company, and I survived environments bigger personalities may not have. I thought of it as my superpower.

But, somewhere along the way I neglected to form my own personality. I can make myself into whoever I need to be to succeed in any situation, but I don’t know who I am when no one else is around. I realize this as I grow and have children. I want to be a role model, but what is the best kind? Who do I portray to be the best role model? Certainly not ‘myself’. I don’t want my children growing up thinking they have to change themselves to succeed, but it is all I know.

I was part of a wild and mischievous group when I met my husband. Perhaps he was too, but he was always the reasonable, quiet, relaxed presence. When we were together one on one I liked that personality; maybe that’s who I wanted to be too, or maybe I just wanted a break from the chaos. Whatever the reason, I formed an attachment. We settled down together. We learned, grew, succeeded, and failed together. We had children together. I became a stay-at-home mom, and people praised me for my attentiveness, my patience, and my successes. People that ate up the persona I put out into the world.

But who am I really?

I’d love to tell you how I figured it all out. How I found my own mentors and role models and molded myself into the person I am today. But, alas, I am just a girl on a journey. A girl who is tired of the charades and the upkeep of being everyone’s hero and best friend. I still enjoy making people happy, but I want to be genuine in doing so. I want to be able to believe people when they tell me how much I mean to them. I want to know they are speaking about me directly and not just the personality I provided, catered specifically to their tastes and interests.

I am on my way. I am FINDING my way. For so long I envied everyone I met. I envied how at ease they were with themselves, with their mistakes and quirks. I wanted to feel that freedom. I still do.

I’ve decided to be more honest. I will voice my displeasure when I disagree with something. It is a small and fragile voice, I will scramble with my words if you question it, but the voice is there! It’s a baby step, but it feels like a massive victory. Somewhere along this journey I will find the woman I was meant to be, and I will embrace her and love her like no one ever has. Then, I will not care whether anyone else does or not, but I have a long way to go.

In the meantime, my son asked me for a chameleon for his birthday. Maybe there still is something marvelous about those little creatures.

self help
Like

About the Creator

J B

Stay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.