Motivation logo

THE BOUGIE INSTRUCTOR

Part 2: The Mirror

By JULIE ANN REYNOLDSPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

So, if you enjoyed reading my first story, I'm sure you are tuning in to Part 2, "The Mirror". And, you're probably wondering where does a "mirror" fit in to becoming INIMITABLE. Just to refresh your memory, in Part 1 of my story series, I emphasized "PASSION" and why it's important for you to marry your PASSION. I also mentioned that "PASSION" is a key variable in becoming INIMITABLE.

💖PASSION💖 is defined as a very strong feeling about something or a strong belief in something. If you have a passion for something, you have a very strong interest in it and love it very much.

So, this is where the "MIRROR" comes into play. When you look👀 in the mirror, are you able to see your PURPOSE? Why do you do what you do? Whenever I look in the MIRROR before heading off to work, I ask myself, "Julie, why do you teach?" And, yes, I do answer myself, and, no, I'm not crazy😜! My response to my question is, "Because I LOVE MAKING A DIFFERENCE in the lives of others." I know what my PURPOSE is as a Nurse Educator. Knowing my PURPOSE drives my PASSION for what I do...everyday...at work--at home--at play. My PURPOSE and my PASSION have helped me to become and maintain my INIMITABILITY as an Instructor.

Before you can marry your PASSION, you must know your PURPOSE. If you look in the mirror and you are unable to define your PURPOSE, you have a little work ahead of you. Not knowing your PURPOSE will make your WORK feel like WORK. There will be mornings where you will dread having to go to work. There will be mornings where you are at that point of no return--ready to throw in the towel--file for a DIVORCE--QUIT.

Take out your 🔍mirror🔎. Look into it. Now, define who you are as a person. What do you value? Now, define your PURPOSE. Believe in your PURPOSE. Once, you are able to do this without hesitation, you will feel your PASSION emerge from within. You will go to bed at night looking forward to going into work the next morning. And, when you wake up in the morning, you will be jovial to go to work.🚗 Now, you are ready to marry your PASSION.

Now, you're prepared to become INIMITABLE! I'm sure you're tired of hearing all of the philosophical jibber-jab. So, let me get down to the nitty-gritty--HOW TO BECOME INIMITABLE.

Before I start sharing with you the steps on becoming and staying inimitable, I think it's vital for you to foster a good understanding of exactly what "INIMITABLE" means. Inimitable means that you are so good at what you do that you cannot be copied. No matter how hard the next person tries to imitate you, they just can't seem to exactly mimic what you do and how you do it. Your performances and outcomes are worthy to be copied, but impossible to be copied. Inimitable things could be your talents, skills, or experiences.

Now, to ensure you harbor a good understanding of the meaning of INIMITABLE, I want you to look away from your screen. Explain the definition in your own words. You'll know you understand the meaning when you are able to explain it without saying "impossible to copy" or "unique".

So, yes, knowing your purpose and being passionate about what you do are the first steps and the key elements to becoming inimitable. Integrating your values as a person and what you value about your work are the second steps you need to integrate into what you do to help you maintain your inimitability. Doing so will help you follow your teaching, instructing, and training from beginning to end.

The third step is to start and keep having an open mind. LISTEN, even when you don't want to, to others advice and concepts. Grasp every opportunity to be a SPONGE.

Are you ready for the next steps on how to become and stay INIMITABLE? Have I gotten your attention, yet? If you answered "yes" to either or both questions, stay tuned for Part 3 of the BOUGIE INSTRUCTOR.🕐

Julie Ann Reynolds, LVN, C-NM, QCP

goals
2

About the Creator

JULIE ANN REYNOLDS

Julie Ann Reynolds consistently achieves a first-time nurse aide State Certification student pass rate of 100%. Her leverage--PASSION. She hosts a thriving YouTube channel, www.YouTube.com/c/JulieReynoldsNATCEPConsultant.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.