Motivation logo

THE BOUGIE INSTRUCTOR

A Series of Stories on Becoming and Staying Inimitable

By JULIE ANN REYNOLDSPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
ARE YOU MARRIED TO YOUR PASSION?

Where do I begin? Let me start with the year 2003, when I graduated nursing school. I knew I wanted to be the best at whatever I did...or at least, close to the best. And, I always wanted to be someone who had the ability and means to change the lives of others for the better. I needed guidance...I needed empowerment...I needed someone to guide me through my journey to help me get to where I wanted to be--on top--or, close to the top.

I was like a sponge, soaking in all the words and phrases that were dripping from the mouths of those around me. I asked questions...lots of questions...even questions that I already knew the answers to. Why? Because, I knew that in order to be on the top...or, close to...I needed to learn how others around me perceived the same things...different things. I knew that, in order to be on top--or, close to--I had to be open-minded and listen...even when I did not want to listen...I listened.

Now, let me jump forward to the year 2019, sixteen years later. Guess what? I'm on top! Yes! I made it! After 16 years of nursing, I finally reached the pinnacle of my career. And guess what? I married it--vowing never to divorce it--PASSION. As with any marriage, one must effortlessly maintain what you have built, created, designed, crafted...what you first fell in love with, and remember WHY you fell in love with it. Until you reach that pinnacle...Until you marry your PASSION...you may experience many divorces in your career—many pitfalls in your performances as a teacher, instructor, and trainer---many disappointments in student productivity.

PASSION is the key variable to becoming INIMITABLE--impossible to duplicate…second to none...incomparable to the other many. After making you, the mold was broken.

Before you can reach your pinnacle--Before you can achieve impeccable results with your students--you have got to marry your PASSION. And once you have married your PASSION, you should obligate yourself to maintaining a strong bond with it. Sometimes, you may need your PASSION to walk behind you to help push you forward. Sometimes, your PASSION may have to take the lead to guide you. At other times, your PASSION may just need to walk by your side to help support your efforts. Yes, PASSION is the key to becoming INIMITABLE.

People always ask me how I do it. How do I maintain my marriage with my PASSION? How do I not become bored with what I do? The only way I can respond is by telling them that PASSION is in my blood—it’s in my soul. And, if you are not passionate about what you do and with the outcomes that come about with what you do, it’s time for you to pull the cord and get off at the next station.

You have to have a full heart to be a teacher, trainer, and instructor. With this, your INIMITABILITY will begin to blossom. You will witness changes, not only in your students, but also in yourself. You will start seeing improvement in student test and performance scores. And, more importantly, you will start seeing an enhancement in student engagement.

So, I ask you: Are you passionate about teaching, training, and instructing? Are you married to your PASSION? Have you had many DIVORCES during your career? Do you want to become and stay INIMITABLE? Do you want to make a change in your instruction—a change in student performance?

If you responded “YES” to at least one of these questions, you want to learn more about becoming and staying INIMITABLE. Read my stories and leave comments. Stay tuned for Part 2 of "THE BOUGIE INSTRUCTOR".

Julie Ann Reynolds, LVN, C-NM, QCP

goals
2

About the Creator

JULIE ANN REYNOLDS

Julie Ann Reynolds consistently achieves a first-time nurse aide State Certification student pass rate of 100%. Her leverage--PASSION. She hosts a thriving YouTube channel, www.YouTube.com/c/JulieReynoldsNATCEPConsultant.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.