Motivation logo

That Valuable Commodity Called Time

It's up to you to use it wisely.

By Nathonia SmithPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
No TIME to waste

If there is one thing I’ve realized in my old age, it’s that patience in any given situation is not easy. Everything is about timing for me. I tend to think that it may be because, subconsciously, I feel like time is something no one really has to simply waste. And, the quicker I can get something done, the closer I’ll be to reaching my goal, satisfying my appetite, and quenching my thirst. I view time as a priceless commodity that should be used wisely by everyone. I’ve learned through simple observation and from personal experience that when it’s time for life to end for an individual, it ends, simple as that.

There’s a lot that a person may want to accomplish while he or she has the chance to do it. I can’t stress enough how important it is for me to gain recognition and success as a writer, whether online or offline. This is one of my important goals that I know that I need to put more time into getting done. But, distractions of some sort are always around to capture my attention and my time. Still, I’m starting to put more time and effort into those things that are important to me. Silently, I use motivational phrases, after I give thanks for breath in my body, each morning when I open my eyes. Honestly, this is necessary for me to focus on having a productive day online, the place I spend most of my time. Some of my regular phrases: "Get up and get going, Toni!", "Time to reach that goal, chick!","How bad do you want success online?","You can do it Toni," have really been helpful in giving me some direction in the morning.

Not only am I trying to succeed as a writer, I also want to succeed in affiliate marketing from a site that has offered me the opportunity to create my own business. It didn’t cost me a thing to join the site nor does it cost me to earn money promoting their health products. For me, it’s a win/win situation because, as I stated before, it didn’t have to come out of pocket. Of course, I wasn’t dedicating the time I should have in order to succeed as an affiliate marketer before. I guess I thought I would join the site just to be a member of another affiliate marketing site. After seeing advertisements about that same site on social media sites and reading positive feedback from people responding to that ad, I knew why I wasn’t getting any engagement or feedback on my personal webpage for that site. I wasn’t promoting my link regularly, like other members of the site. So, putting more time into marketing and promoting my online business is now on my priority list, as opposed to putting on my to-do list.

Life has a tendency to throw people curve balls, especially when they least expect it. Unfortunately, that’s something that no one can change. There’s no planning when it comes to life’s challenges. And, when those curve balls and challenges result in negative feelings or behaviors, it becomes so difficult to get back into that positive frame of mind. Death is something that will come to all of us, eventually. It’s easy to focus on it when we lose someone near and dear to us, under any circumstance. My first reaction, after recently losing someone close to my husband and myself, was 'I could be next.' At the same time, I’m thinking 'I got to step up my game if I want to accomplish my important goals.' Of course, it took me while to get back into the mode of wanting to put more time and effort into writing and affiliate marketing. Now, every day that I open my eyes to a new, I take into consideration what I’ve always known before, yet didn’t really take as serious as I should have, time is too precious to waste. I am determined to put more time and effort into reaching my goals of succeeding as a writer and succeeding as an online business! I’ll get there soon!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Nathonia Smith

I am a wife, mother, grandmother, inventor and online published writer who recently completed studies at Ashford University earning a Bachelors Degree in Human Resource Management. Writing has always given me such joy and fulfillment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.