Motivation logo

Taurus

a grounding ritual for fiery minds

By Joe NastaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Old Woman's Bay in Kodiak, AK

Howdy Everyone!

Yesterday the moon entered Sagittarius, marking a moment for flaring energy, fiery drive forward, and forcefully aimed intentions. We know what's important to us and are committed to taking action. However, this conviction and self-belief can be overwhelming! I'm a Capricorn, Taurus Moon, Aquarius Rising and need my feet to be firmly planted on the ground, even though I also have heavy Sagittarius placements.

During Fiery Times I find it useful to return to my Earthen roots. Sagittarius is the mutable fire sign: The moon right now will bring you the energy you need to mold your own future in your hands! It also will knock you out on your ass if you don't take care of yourself. Today, I'm finding it incredibly useful to return to meditation ritual, lay on the ground, and channel the energy of the sun. Taurus, the mutable Earth Sign!

Something I personally struggle with is giving permission to myself. Permission to listen to what my body is telling me what it needs, permission to rest when I have a goal I'm working towards, permission to lie still while my physical form heals itself. Taurus energy is all about rest, self-care, connecting to the Earth, and giving yourself what you need.

Take a moment to ask your body, what do I need? Look in a full length mirror, taking in your form. Stand up straight. What do I need? Allow the answer to come. Look into your eyes and say it aloud: Rest. Water. A good meal. Alone time. Cuddles. A walk. What do I need? Your body will tell you. Listen.

Light a candle and repeat your discover out loud three times. Incantation is powerful. Read the Incantation aloud.

In that moment of the body sinking into steel, against the pits behind the knees, against the spinal curve gap,

in that moment of the body, finally. Wrists, heel slams. No time for beautiful, real things.

There is no more time. The winds dissipate, inland winds. Open your eyes, get

up and there is nothing. Yellow curves ocean. Go.

I wrote the incantation below when the moon was in Taurus, I was in Honolulu working 0n a research vessel, and I needed a reminder to melt into the Earth, the ocean, and the light. Whenever I feel overwhelmed I lower my entire body to lie supine on the ground. On a ship, the steel deck connects everyone onboard to the water, the ocean connects everyone on Earth to each other. I feel comforted feeling my weight pressing into the ground. I listen to the lapping waves, remembering how un-alone we are.

I recommend finding a patch of grass to lie down in. Lean into Taurus energy for stability in shifting times. Feel it in the sun's rays and in the dirt under you. Rest your mind, rest your body body. Hold your goal or concern in your mind, then in your throat, and then in the root chakra at the very base of your spine. This is where your body began, and this is where your journey forward will begin. The heat enters your pores and burns uncertainty and stress away.

Now relax in to savasana, closed-eye letting go of your body and sinking down into the Earth. There is so much energy in the top soil, the lower reaches of continually recycled energy, the heat and power just below the calm surface.

When you are ready, open your eyes.

Now wiggle your fingers. Feel the power of magma and the calm of dirt. Rise when you are ready. Now go do what your body needs you to do.

You will have the grounding and strength you need to move forward. You got this!

Love, Joe

healing
1

About the Creator

Joe Nasta

Hi! I'm a queer multimodal artist writing love poems in Seattle, one half of the art and poetry collective Eat Yr Manhood, and head curator of Stone Pacific Zine. Work in The Rumpus, Occulum, Peach Mag, dream boy book club, and others. :P

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.