Motivation logo

Synchronistically Meeting Markus

Random inspirational conversation on a West Hollywood sidewalk leads to stepping into path and purpose.

By Michelle ArbeauPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

While walking to a shop on Santa Monica Boulevard in West Hollywood, I went a block too far. While waiting at the crosswalk to turn back, a man rolled up in his wheelchair beside me.

I don't remember what started our conversation, but it led to something miraculous and so very inspirational. I will cherish meeting Markus for all time.

A question I often randomly ask people I meet is: "What is your passion?"

I ask this because, surprisingly, many people don't have a clue.

Markus told me he had plans to go to school for four years in finance. I asked him what he wanted to do with that finance degree as my gut was shouting to me that he wasn't planning on a typical career in the finance industry.

Sure enough, Markus had alternative ideas about what he wanted to do in the arena of finance. He wanted to teach the younger generations the value of a dollar. To set up a practice that wasn't typical or mainstream.

Markus also revealed he already had another degree related to finance so I asked him why he felt the need to go back to school for four years, considering what his career aspirations were.

He knew his stuff already. He was well-versed in what he wanted to share, extremely passionate, and had everything he needed already, to embark on his new career path. Yet, he felt he needed that piece of paper on the wall. A diploma saying he was "qualified" to do the job.

I asked Markus if he thought anyone he was going to teach or offer his consulting services to would actually look at or even care about such a document on the wall—considering he already had the skills and abilities needed to successfully fulfill the role?

At that moment, he realized I was right. Wasting another four years of his life in school, stalling his dream, wasn't the answer. I asked Markus to promise me he wouldn't go to school just yet but to give his career plans a try before going that route.

He agreed and promised he would. Excited, we both said our goodbye after giving our contact information to each other. While getting my business card out of my wallet, a quarter rolled out onto the ground. It rolled so far, it must have traveled 50 feet before finally landing. I ran to pick it up and I gave it to Markus.

The quarter was a sign of "money" and the fact that Markus didn't require the finance degree. This was his path and purpose. His passion. He already had all he needed to step into the next phase of his life, to live his dreams—it was time. And he was ready to go the distance, just like the quarter had done.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Arbeau

Top Numerologist, Life Strategist, 3-Time Bestselling Author, Syndicated Columnist, Business.com, Inc.com Expert. CEO Eleven Eleven Productions. Work with top names such as Chanel, Karl Lagerfeld, J.J. Abrams, Konica Minolta, Michael Kors.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.