Motivation logo

Stuck In The Closet

Never judge a book by its cover.

By Madison BuschPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5

My first new year’s revolution was to be able to come out to my family. Ever since I was about 13 years old I knew I was Bisexual. It is been hard keeping this secret for three years. I knew I was ready to come out. I had my family sitting in the living room when I told them, My mom said, “I suspected it”. My dad said, “I am going to love you no matter what”. My sister yelled, “I knew it!”. It was a shock to me as to how they responded. I felt free, free from the chains of my secret.

My second new year’s resolution was to change my diet. I do not eat the healthiest. So I have been making changes to my diet. When I eat Reese’s peanut butter cups I take small bites out of them. Savoring the taste of the peanut butter and chocolate instead of popping the whole thing in my mouth. Another change I have made is the way I make my coffee. I use to use 2 creamers and 6 sugars but now I use 2 creamers and 3 sugars. Another thing I have changed is my snacks. When I want to eat chips I try to eat some fruit. If I still want some chips then I will pour some into a small bowl.

My third new year’s resolution was to lose weight. The reason why I am trying to lose weight is because of my hypothyroidism. This caused me to gain weight. So to reach my goal I have been doing pilates along with walking. If I am watching a T.V. show such as Mom or The Simpsons then I do some leg exercises. Just with small modifications, I have already lost 2 lbs and I am proud of myself for it I wish to lose 18 more pounds.

My 4th new year’s resolution is to get better grades. The coronavirus has taken a toll on my school work. Causing it to be a little tricky. Going to school every other day and virtual. It has been hard on me. So to reach my goal I am going to keep better track of my assignments. I plan on using a planner to organize my assignments. The one thing that is hard for me is staying focused. So, I plan on utilizing my desk downstairs for my school work.

My 5th new year’s resolution is to update my wardrobe. I have a lot of clothes that I do not wear anymore. So to reduce the number of clothes in my closet I am going to go shopping. Here is the catch, for every article of clothing I donate and or sell I am going to buy an article of clothing.

My 6th new year’s resolution is to take better care of my mental health. I deal with depression, anxiety, and bipolar depression. I do not prefer to take a million pills each day. I want to do more of a homeopathic method. I have read that yoga, meditation, essential oils, and saying positive things about yourself can help with your depression.

My 7th new year’s resolution is to work more on my arts and crafts. One thing I do to relax is a variety of things from drawing to sewing I tend to do a lot. I also like to upcycle, turning old things and giving them a new purpose. I find all different types of odds and ends and give them a new life. For example, I have made a pencil holder out of a coffee bottle, or taking a milk jug and making it into a watering can.

goals
5

About the Creator

Madison Busch

Just a young writer trying to make the most out of life.

Instagram: maddie.busch26

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristee Lederle2 years ago

    You have such an amazing voice! I can't wait to read more!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.