Motivation logo

Stop Dwelling on the Past

True story of how things work out.

By Salina LehnPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

No matter how hard you are on yourself, you can't be stuck on the past. If they ever had a time machine, people would be stuck on it. You know why? Because no matter the outcome everyone wants to always change one thing that happened. I have learned that no matter what nothing will ever be as fantastic as you would want it so just go with the flow.

I was at an all time low, wishing I could turn back and make the changes that I regretted. I was stuck in a funk that was so hard to get out of. I blamed everyone else for everything that happened in my life. People started to steer clear of me. They started to stop asking me to hang out. I kept myself isolated and didn't talk to many people. I didn't think life would get any better.

Man, I was wrong...

My job is actually what changed me for the better. They put me through life training to better myself professionally and personally. They invested time in me to make me who I am today. I learned to have a positive outlook on anything. There is always a silver lining in anything that happens in your life whether it is good or bad. Things in life will never be perfect and the past is something that makes us who we are. You always have to find the good in anything that you do otherwise you won't survive. What you focus on is what you will work on. For example, we went for a walk the other day. My daughter was being like every three year old can get if they are tired and hungry...whiney. I walked with her and as I felt myself getting frustrated, I just kept walking. Eventually, I came up with a good idea to have a race with her. She had something else to focus on. She ended up giving up on whining and having a blast. I switched her mindset to focus on something else other than food and sleep. She powered through and ended up having a great time. Trust me. She took the best nap ever on the way home!

In my lifetime, I was in a very toxic relationship that I thought I would never get out of. I thought I was stuck. I had my three kids and no hope in anything. I focused on all the bad. My bad was getting worse.

One day I left. I was done. The years between that and now felt like a work in progress. Days felt long and pointless. I didn't think I could do anything better in my life. I was focused on all the flaws I had rather than the smartness and strive that was deep down inside.

My career believed in me. I started to focus on myself and my kids. Work had me striving for the best in me. They promoted me! They loved me. It was like a second family. My workplace excepted my family and gave me a chance to live my best life. However, something was missing. I was still lonely, but I did not dwell on it. Being in the last relationship, I really didn't focus on dating. I actually didn't want to until one day I didn't even have to look. My love came to me.

I eventually met the man of my dreams. We have 6 beautiful kids, 3 dogs, and 8 gold fish! We have fun. He takes me on adventures that I never thought I would be on. All of my hopes and dreams have come true with him. He accepted my flaws and overlooked them. He corrects me in a manner that teaches me in a nice way. Let's face it, I am not perfect, but he makes me feel perfect for him. I gave up looking back on everything that I have been through. I started to look forward to each and everyday with him and our family. If I would have focused on every single thing that has happened in my past, I wouldn't be in this relationship. I would still be sitting scared waiting for answers instead of getting them myself. I would still be stuck in a pit of wonders instead of chasing my dreams.

Moral of the story: Go with the flow of things. Don't ever let anyone bring you or your dreams down. If you want something, go get it! Life is so short to wait around. Just go and live your life to the extreme. Find your own happiness even if you are alone. Focus on the good in life. Surround yourself with positive people. Negativity is a cancer to the soul. When someone says that you can't do it, prove them wrong. My goal in life now is to surprise everyone around me with accomplishing my goals, being the happiest person I can, and never letting anyone bring me down into my pit of sorrows.

Now go and inspire everyone around you! You never know who is watching you. I know I have my kids, my fiance, and my dogs of course!

goals
1

About the Creator

Salina Lehn

I am a single mom of three beautiful kids. Love to write in my free time on things going on or that have happened in my lifetime. Hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.