Motivation logo

SPRING FORWARD: SCREW THE CLOCKS THEY WONT HELP YOU.

This year in my house, there will be no trips to the dump. No overflowing recycle bin or reading signs that say, “drop off here for donations”. There won’t be any excessive dusting or painting projects happening this spring. I changed the clocks in the house for punctuality purposes only.

By Tarah TownsellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Why do we feel like we need to clean and reorganize for spring? Like a caterpillar turning into a butterfly, is there something we are trying to shed? What are we trying to morph into by reorganizing the pantry? We spent the last year in confusion and uncertainty. Let us not forget the toilet paper shortage. I think when I say the last year has provided more than enough WTF moments, that we can all agree.

I’m sure most of us went up and down this roller coaster of emotions and had no idea when the ride was going to stop. For me, this last year was filled with every emotion imaginable. Here are 4 easy steps that helped me get focused and organized for spring.

1.The Assessment

What is something you want to accomplish? Is it really reorganizing the garage? Or is it an honest attempt to control something in your life because there is another aspect of it that you can’t?

I asked myself these questions recently and found a shocking revelation. I did not care so much about how organized my garage was, but more about how organized I felt on the inside. I kept asking myself, what am I doing? What do I need? I spent the last 10 years working at a job I didn’t feel happy at. I felt stuck. No one wants to change careers in their mid-30s. You lose your benefits, your PTO, your financial security and you’ll have to start over somewhere at the bottom. But I was also tired of waking up every morning, clocking in and putting in hours somewhere that didn’t move me. It did not fill my heart with happiness.

They say that if you don’t grow up dreaming about it, then you have no business doing it. I don’t know who “they” are, but they were right.

2.Quit your job

Now, this guide isn’t for everyone. However, if you found yourself this last year with a running list of WTF moments, listen up.

When you were a kid, did you think you would be doing what you are doing for work today? Maybe you did. Maybe you grew up dreaming about numbers and now you’re an accountant. Maybe you grew up dreaming about saving animals and now you’re a vet tech or staff at the local bird sanctuary. If that’s the case, then kudos to you and there is no need to read any further. When I was a kid, I would dream about being a Rockstar. My back up plan was to give under privileged kids free musical instruments and lessons. That was my passion. How had I ended up a Ford Master Technician? WTF? Day after day of clocking in and out for scraps was exhausting and it wasn’t what I always wanted to do. I looked in the mirror every morning for almost a year and ugly cried before work. Why didn’t I go after what I wanted? How come I didn’t try? What am I doing? Staring at yourself at 5 am before brushing your teeth will do something to you.

I quit my job.

WTF

3.Fall Apart

When you make major life changes, regardless of if they were planned or not, its terrifying. Allow yourself some time to grieve. Those, “they” characters also said something about if it doesn’t scare you or isn’t hard, then it’s probably not worth doing. They were right about that too.

I gave my two weeks’ notice and 3 days later I couldn’t even muster the strength to walk through the doors. I was waiting on a call back for a part time job, not related to the automotive industry at all. I wanted to free up time so I could work on my writing and start planning my non-profit idea. I didn’t get the job. WTF!

So, I lost it for a little bit, I panicked. I wondered if or how everything was going to work out. I was operating in total chaos for a bit, until I learned how to balance my life purpose and my budget. For me it was a blessing in disguise. If I am going to go for it, I might as well go all in. I didn’t have time for a part time job. My full-time job is literally going after my dreams.

4.Follow your dreams

Starting over is hard, it’s scary, and uncertain. I’d like to personally thank the entire year of 2020 for preparing me for that. As I changed all the clocks in the house, for punctual reasons only, my advice to you is do what makes you happy. The soul filling, warm sun on your face, driving down the road with the wind in your hair, freeing type happy. Don’t go into another spring without cleaning out your heart and mind. The baggage is heavy, you don’t need it. I will not be reorganizing my garage this year but organizing a nonprofit. I will not be cleaning the outside windows of spider webs, I will be busy writing, spending the time with my family, going on road trips, feeding my soul with love and light.

Tips and tricks for you: Throw the clocks out and do what you love.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Tarah Townsell

She/Her

Mother. Wife. Sister. Auntie.

Queer. Writer. Lover. Fighter.

Things that move me-

Helping young people with mental health, addiction, recovery, self-harm, surviving and thriving by telling and sharing my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.