Motivation logo

Shutting Down, Getting Up

How do I survive during a lockdown?

By Pearl ThomasPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Spare.

I was queried about my spare time in hard times. Actually, I have a lot to do to keep busy. However, we need people in our lives. You miss their company. Nice, to have social media. We would still like to text someone or include them in our lives.

And then, your job. Yes, we want to thrive. Continue. My profession even with permission from government let’s me help out. My duties changed to cleaning, stocking, greeting, etcetera.

The answers to the question about our nationwide lockdown is as follows:

I like to enjoy again and again “the hippest trip in America” called Soul Train series. The shows are during the time I was a regular viewer. Could be to watch shows I missed also. Family tuned in together as a bond. School learned the newest dances. I also saw live performances of artists from the radio airwaves broadcasted on television. We loved that show. It’s no longer televised but we keep the memory alive. Familywise, we saw dances very familiar to others pastimes. Oh, that’s why they dressed that way years ago(too young to remember except glimpses of people going out). They had dance competitions besides dancing sometimes. Too familiar...I have been in a neighborhood dance class. Most of the classroom was invited. I felt good to recapture the music from Chic.

Then, I have to today, tune into the hits listed on YouTube. I am closer spiritually to people nowadays. I like to watch the movies about various topics that have been produced too. When days off from work in the past, I saw and read a lot of books by TD Jakes, Max Lucado, the Dai Lama, Hernandez andevenso more. I am not imposing. I am trying to give ideas to another person if they’re listening. A good read does not have to be about religion. I tried audiobooks to maintain my personal quality time about reading. Some are about workforce issues whilest other is mentioning office mannerisms. I do not want to lie as speak of my lockdown situation. I have included novels from various authors. I usually go to the library. Otherwise, I have material written down.

I almost tuned in to suspenseful movies too. These can be classics from 70s to 90s. This will add drama to me for sure. Nothing like staying alert in the nighttime. Boooo!

I may start to listen to songs that are from the past I am fond of such as:

The Thrill Is Gone by BB King

Lover by T. Swift

Songs by Rihanna and other rap music genre.

Classic movies are good to watch...Perhaps, Over The Top,Terminator, As You Like It, Rainman, The Way We Were and besides that I wanted to watch True Grit starring John Wayne. Televised family shows could help comfort a lot whether old or new. I use Pluto TV when I get back into television. I did not have some ways to sit down. Life is busy. Now, proud to be associated with their television site. Where that is involved, I enjoy some sports such as wrestling. I miss my XGames and Track or events interactive to me in my opinion called American Gladiators.

Music can uplift life raising your mood to better places in thoughtlife. Tunes titled the following to name a few( however, I am very into music but I cannot hear everyone or let go). Recently, I travailed down memory lane with family and friends about band tunes. That’s right.

We Are The Champion

Phantom Of The Opera

Titanic

Jungle Boogie by Kool- n-The Gang

Spanish Harlem

Spanish and Broadway tunes.

Tunes that include you in their performance is :

Mmmbop by a Young Group

Including another Young Group tune of Jump, Jump

Family Affair by M. Blige

God Got The Whole World In His Hands revived by Tyler Perry to raise people sprits via messenger during the lockdown.

Since, we are on the subject, I enjoy songs with a close 💕 loved one. If someone join us or not these are Love Songs. Many are that wrote love songs. I mainly like them discussing every facet of life. And you?

What are you doing during this time? Are you okay? Stay safe, we all say, during this pandemic. I like to see you afterwards. If effected, get well soon.

Some Irish for you:

May your feet be merry in all you do.

Chin up high, eyes on.

A hand can lead you safely but a voice soon follows.

Look to the East Star, whence cometh your help.

The cure is comfort one another in times like these.

Your friend is here, just let ‘em in.

Good day all.

Willow, aka Lady Pearl

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.