Motivation logo

seven goals for the new year: 2021

Honestly, anything has to be better than 2020, anything

By Liv AttersonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
seven goals for the new year: 2021
Photo by Moritz Knöringer on Unsplash

Ko-fi has started doing monthly challenges on their site and I am so excited to be participating (albeit it a little late) this month. This month they asked us to share our plans for 2021, but before I get into that I should probably explain what ko-fi is.

Ko-fi is the friendly way to ask fans to support your work for the price of a coffee. Coffee is just a metaphor (you don't have to buy actual coffee!) Direct your fans and followers to support you, receive messages of encouragement and celebrate when you reach your goal!

Last month, when they introduced the challenges, it was a wip/work-in-progress challenge. In this challenge, ko-fi users were asked to create a wip/work-in-progress or bts/behind-the-scenes album in our photo gallery.

This month, they have asked us to share our goals for 2021. Asking us to look for hope, for a sunrise, a small sun beam peeking through clouds after the trauma-sparking year that has been 2020.

So here are some of my goals for 2021.

1. Ko-fi shop

Ko-fi also recently added a feature where you can now sell your product (physical or digital) on their site. This made me incredibly excited as now I don't have to set up an esty shop or gumroad (though I did look into both of them as a possibility). It is also where I plan to start selling black-out poetry prints, some used books and eventually my own debut collection of writing. And maybe a few crocheted blankets when I get better at it.

2. commissions

While my commissions have been open for a few months now I am hoping to have it pick up in business. Currently I have 50 envelopes and 12 postcards available for commissions. It is written content only for now but hopefully I will be able to do blankets later on as well (I have a deep love of blankets). If you would like to commission a piece from me, you can do so on my ko-fi account!

3. blogging

2020 was the year I took up blogging. Writing my thoughts on books, movies, life and how I deal with mental health, along with anything else I am currently obsessed with at the moment. At the beginning of 2020 I had very high expectations for myself as I had no idea what the following months held for everyone. One of these high expectations that I had for myself was to gain a ton of followers for I had the idea logged in my head that "what is a writer without her reader, you cannot have one without the other". While I did gain a couple of followers it was not what I seen for myself. I had started on wordpress but since I didn't really like the setup I have since moved it over to ko-fi. I am hoping to have a blog post go up at least twice a month, but will try not to be too hard on myself if this does not happen. Regardless of having followers or people reading or not I am going to post.

4. Vocal +

Much like my blog, I am hoping to post at least twice a month. And at some point I would very much like to upgrade to be a Vocal+ member. If for a few reasons being the challenges, the badge on my profile and the extremely cool shirt repping vocal. Vocal + Members also get a few cool perks that come with paying, so that is also a plus that I plan on looking more into later.

5. ipad air and magic keyboard

This one is more of a money thing but I would love to be able to get the new ipad air with a magic keyboard. Working more and moving at least $10 from every paycheck into a small savings app that I have on my phone. This will mostly be used for classes and writing on vocal more. (if you would like to help me buy said ipad, then I am running a small funding goal over on ko-fi that you can donate to if you like my writing: ipad funding goal)

6. getting a second job and my own place

I recently started a seasonal job at our local Yankee Candles and while I love it there, it is only temporary so I will need to start looking for something else soon. I have a few places in mind that I plan on applying too for a permanent position and will hopefully get enough money saved up to pay for tuition. Getting an apartment down by the college that me and one of my friends found is also on the list and one of the reasons that I need to get a permanent position.

7. The newsletter: The Ramblings of a Bibliophile

Creating my newsletter has been one of my small joys of 2020. It is sent out weekly and while I have missed the last few weeks due to life interfering with my writing I am so excited to be sending out the next one very soon. It discusses what I am currently reading, my life, where I am in drafting my manuscript and anything else that I happen to do along the way. I also attach links to my most recent blog and vocal post so you can always follow my writing across all my platforms! If you would like to follow my newsletter, you can subscribe to it on my website.

———

If you enjoyed reading this post then please consider supporting me on ko-fi by donating or viewing my profile on here. You can follow my own writing journey on my website!

Thank you so much for reading!

—liv atterson

About the author:

Liv Atterson is currently finishing a General Studies Degree and plans to continue to get her Bachelor's in English and Art History. She is an avid believer that you can never own too many books just too few shelves. When she is not reading or writing she can be found studying and drinking her body weight in coffee. She is currently working on her debut book.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Liv Atterson

on hiatus

Liv Atterson is a fiction writer, living in Indiana, with her cat, and ever-growing collection of books.

She plans to someday move to Washington State and work in a bookstore.

pronouns: she/her/hers

🔗 https://writtenbyliv.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Liv Atterson is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.