Motivation logo

Self Care

Your path to freedom and success

By Kim TownsendPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I know that self care is something that I have neglected a lot over my life. It has been something that I had fit in, in spits and spurts, when I found the time between everything else. (Sound familiar?) And generally, it had not been holistic. I would rotate through a focus on the body—food and exercise—then on the mindset and then the spirit, but generally not a bit of all, all together.

In fact, when I look back at my life, most of it was focussing on caring for others; there was very little focus on caring for myself, which was actually neglect. For some years, I was even actively abusing myself.

We all neglect ourselves in some way, which really equates to abuse. For most it would not be conscious, but we do it. We eat too much, don’t eat enough, drink too much alcohol, don’t drink enough water, smoke, stay angry, depressed, anxious, and live in fear, tormenting ourselves with our self talk... and loads of other things.

WHAT WE FEED OURSELVES

Self care is about nourishing and nurturing mind, body and spirit. Just think about how you treat or talk to yourself. Would you talk to or treat people you love the same way?

What we put in to our minds, bodies and spirits, has a direct correlation to how we think, feel, operate, and what we achieve.

Here are a few things to consider:

MIND

What do you feed your mind?

  • Violence and drama from movies and news?
  • Do you discuss solutions, and act on them, or sit in the drama and chaos of problems?
  • Do you continually tell yourself why you can't do things, rather than why you could do them?
  • Do you not do things you would love to do because of fear?
  • Are you stressed?

BODY

What do you feed your body?

  • Healthy, nutritious foods or junk food?
  • Is there activity, movement and exercise or are you sedentary?
  • Do you imbibe chemicals knowingly or unknowingly?
  • Is your body stressed?

SPIRIT

What do you feed your spirit?

  • Do you do things that you love, excite, energise and nourish you?
  • Do you feel connected to yourself, others, a purpose or higher energy or God?
  • Is your spirit worn out?

RUNNING ON EMPTY

If your mind, body, or spirit is running on empty or in survival mode, it is challenging to keep going and to see that you can feel fabulous and achieve more. Some things can change in an instant and others will take steps over time to change, but change can happen, if you want it.

Is the fear of change stronger than the pain of staying where you are?

PATHWAY TO WHOLEHEARTED LIVING

I know I still have a way to go to be as healthy, nourished, and nurtured, mind, body, and spirit, as I wish to be. I know I will get my desired balance, as it has become a priority to address every day, in one way or another. It is not an obsession, but it has become a part of my life, and I can feel the difference in my being.

Letting go of what I thought I should be doing, should have achieved, and how I should be behaving, "at my age" or in business, is one the most freeing things I have done. Thing is, I just wish I had the courage to do it earlier, as it applies to all ages.

The biggest thing I let go of was thinking I needed to do everything myself because I didn't trust anyone, and they did not understand me, anyway. That was just a story of fear that I made up at some time. The thing is, asking for support and reaching out for help, is not weak, it is having the courage to be vulnerable, to connect and to grow. Dr Brene Brown's research shows that people who ask for support are more trusted and valued as leaders.

The calmness and contentment I feel to be ME, and not who I had been programmed to think I should be, has given me so much strength and freedom, it is amazing.

You should try it!

I can teach and guide you through the process. Email me at [email protected], or call 0401190636 to organise a no-obligation chat, to find out more.

"Life is a dance between vulnerability and courage. Dare to dance." - Kim Townsend

#meditation #stressfree #mindbodyhealth #creativity #play #kimtownsend #BreneBrown #vulnerability #courage #shame #relaxation #coaching #personaldevelopment #personalgrowth #NDIS

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.