Motivation logo

Rose-Colored Lenses

Magic More Spectacular

By Zen AttractionPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
"We see the world, not as it is, but as we are-- or, as we are conditioned to see it." -Stephen R. Covey, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change.

To say that everyone lives in a world blinded by their rose-colored lenses would be both accurate and a misnomer depending on how you define the statement.

We often hear that rose-colored lenses outlines something of blissful naievity, daydreaming of butterflies and puppies, completely unaware of disaster looming just outside of our field of vision. But like anything else ecclesiastical that exists in this world, it not only suggests a dream state of existence but also of catastrophe, and, with proper understanding, harmony between the two.

"But how can this be? Whenever I hear of such primary prisms all that I think of is pure delusion!"

Hopefully after this article any worries that you may will be subdued. Just keep in mind, we have lenses for a reason. Anything that exists must serve a purpose.

Me being a highly creative type, I tend to focus on what I can do to make my reality more comfortable to how I want to live. I mean, who doesn't want comfort, right? But I also understand that with any level of comfort comes levels of pain, and let me tell you i've had plenty of emotional bandages plastered to me throughout my life.

Having a moral compass and strong set of beliefs, I can navigate my conscious plane to virtually wherever I want it to go. In short, I'm ambitious. Although things don't come easily nor without effort, it doesn't mean that they don't show up in my life.

So how do rose colored lenses play a part in all of this?

The fact of the matter is that we'll always have the lenses in place. The more we try to fight our way to the truth outside of them, the more disaster we welcome into our life, which is a rose colored lens in itself because we talk ourselves into delusions of comfort soon as we find something disturbing within our reality.

That's where harmony plays in.

Only through truly accepting the moment for what it is and as it is are we able to let things be and allow the negative to run its course, enabling the positive to work its healing power.

In my personal experience and discovery, it's all a matter of effort to change your reality into what you want it to be, lenses included. Your life is limited only to what you imagine it to be.

As the great René Descartes once said, "Cogito, ergo sum."

"I think, therefore I am."

If you see yourself in a certain place at a certain time, and hold that image within your mind, then take the practical steps to carry out that vision, somewhere down the line according to the effort you put in you might just find yourself exactly where you once pictured.

The fundamentals are simply this; the energy you put into the universe is the energy you get back out. In scienctific terms, "Every action has an equal but opposite reaction."

In short, when we make a practical effort to change the lenses we now have into something positive and useful, anything of our choosing, we then are creating the world we truly want to live in. I once heard somewhere,

"Create a world that you don't want to take a vaction from."

Believe you me, I took that and ran with it.

For some, this concept may seem difficult, especially starting out. To others, you may have picked up on what I intended to say early on and are creating a new world with endless possibilities to discover.

For me, and I fully encourage you to quote me on this if you feel it fits;

"My ever-growing perception of my minuscule existence only highlights my ever-evolving fascination for it. The smallness that I feel in the world only exacerbates my hidden potential and my desire to grow in it."

You can live in virtually anything you choose to develop. It's all a matter of what you belive you can do. So those rose colored lenses that you wear, they're only stepping stones for you to create a world filled with color.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Zen Attraction

Small town boy living in a gnarly city. Not hopeless but a bit of a romantic both in relationships and life. Through my writing I make it a personal mission to recreate a world for those few who still want to enjoy life's simple pleasures.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.