Motivation logo

Revealing Myself Through This Journey

Life

By Sarah ElizabethPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I admit that it has not been as an easy journey to get where I am today, but I am grateful to have joined the roller coaster ride otherwise known as college. America has provided me the tools, allowing me to work hard and choose the lifestyle I want. All of us have goals we want to accomplish. Everyone has different ambitions that allow them to overcome adversity. My goal is to receive my Associates and Bachelors in Science, earn a doctoral degree, participate in giving back to the community, and inspire others. I want to put my degree to practical use and appreciate the qualities of my life. My life experiences have taught me to accept myself for who I am and grow. Hopefully, revealing myself will help inspire others overcoming difficulties in life. After all, receiving an education now plays a vital role than we can ever imagine and our differences can prepare us for the best and the worst yet to come.

Looking back, I used to be ashamed of my ethnic background. As the years go by, I realize my past, present, and future allow me to gain the strength and courage to tell my story. As a young Japanese descendant, living in a rural county, I did not see the importance of the Japanese culture. I remember receiving constant negative remarks from my peers about me being Japanese and Pearl Harbor. This broke my faith and I started to believe those lies. As I matured, I began to understand why my parents sent me to an extracurricular private school at Myers Park in Charlotte. When I was younger, my parents pushed me to understand the Japanese culture and language. They wanted what was best for me by disciplining and emphasizing the Japanese culture on values such as honor and integrity. Eventually, as I got older and understood more, my mother explained that education in Japan was very difficult and that I have more opportunities to go to college here in the United States. In Japan, there are no scholarships. Therefore, I have been blessed with an opportunity of receiving a higher education and it has taught me not to take education for granted despite my setbacks I have faced.

Sports were once my passion and allowed me to develop as a confident person and stand out as a fierce competitor while also helping me gain respect for my peers. I now channel that passionate energy towards studying, which allows me to rehabilitate the mind and body of others. I would like to share my story and experiences with those that share the same passion. As for my future, my goal is to become a Physical Therapist, specializing in Orthopedics and possibly educating other students in the sciences. Pursuing this goal will give me many resources to give back to the community. This is important to me because failing to inspire others is not acceptable especially those overcoming hardships.

Hopefully, sharing my personal experiences will optimistically help and inspire others around me. Despite being made fun of because I am Japanese, I have learned many lessons that are attainable and to take pride in myself. No matter how many times I was put down, I would never back down because I dusted myself off and brushed through the pain. I want to thank you for taking your time reading my story.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Elizabeth

Future physical therapist and recent graduate. Love to be outside and write and read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.