Motivation logo

Restoration from Negativity

Discouragement can be helpful

By Nathonia SmithPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

It never fails, in my case, that whenever I have a positive train of thought, something or someone tries to hit me with negativity of some form. Whether it’s a story of something negative a friend or family member has recently experienced, and that person just needs to vent. Or, something that I was hoping for, maybe even expecting to happen, doesn’t go the way I had planned. It’s like I’ve always heard from my elders, the devil always finds a way to rear his ugly head when you’re feeling good about something. As I get older, I know that concept is true from personal experiences and from hearing about the experiences of others feeling as I do. It's all a part of this priceless gift called life.

It would be easy, in some cases, to just give up on dreams and goals. Many people, I used to be one of those people, allow overwhelming negative experiences guide them, or should I say, veer them from the positive path they're on, especially when it affects them moving forward with reaching important goals. Money, in many cases, is one of the number one element that can cause a person to put his or her dreams on hold. In most cases, it’s the lack of money that can cause a person to give up on achieving something that is extremely important to him or her, like writing and publishing a book for an aspiring author. As a person who loves to write, I know that writing and publishing a book is not as easy as it sounds. And, it’s definitely not free, which sort of surprised me when I first found that out. I thought writers wrote books, submitted them to publishers for review and approval, and waited for payment for their work if the publisher informs them that the book is worth publishing. Actually, this thought quickly diminished the first time I spoke with a publishing company that seemed interested in reading my rough drafts. As I excitedly responded to the publisher about how much I would like to send them a copy of my finished story for review, I didn’t consider the idea that I would have to come up with money to get my book published. Then, before providing me with details with how to send my work to him, the man gave me some discounted prices for possibly getting my book published if he found it worthy of publishing. I lost interest right then and there. He no longer had my attention and I ended the call with a made up excuse about getting another call. For the longest time, I didn’t want to write any kind of story or poem because I didn’t want to accept the fact that writers pay to get their work published in a lot of situations. Instead of using the information as helpful, during that particular time, I saw it as a blow to my positive beliefs about becoming a published writer. For a while, I didn't think I had what it takes to be a published writer or I wouldn't have to pay. Eventually though, I realized that with the information the man from the publishing company had given me, I now had an idea of how much it would cost to get any of my stories published with that company.

What may be initially viewed as negative can actually turn out to be positive and helpful if a person really stops and think. I have been working continuously to succeed as an online affiliate marketer with several different sites because I know these sites are legitimate. But, selling has never been my forte in life, no matter how hard I try. With two of my main affiliate sites, selling is involved, though not on my part. I share my link, hope for sign ups, and let admin on those sites do the rest. Still, I get discouraged when the sign ups I receive become inactive immediately after signing up. In my mind, I wonder how a person expects to earn without putting forth any effort. And then there’s the case of trying not to become disappointed when I see so many other members of those same sites that I’m promoting, advertising their personalized links. So many times, I have wanted to quit because of all of the different affiliate and network marketing competition online. In recent years, network and affiliate marketing has become extremely popular. I kept asking myself how I could compete with so many marketers advertising for the same site, recruiting sales and members like it’s easy, while I’m getting nowhere. That’s an arguable good case that some situations that seem discouraging in the beginning are actually meant to motivate us. Despite the number of affiliate marketing sites online, and the affiliate marketers consistently sharing links on the same sites that I use, I know I can still succeed at it as long as I don’t give up. Why should I give up anyway? I have just as much to offer as the next affiliate marketer and writer has to offer. Instead of allowing negative occurrences discourage me, I begin seeing them as serving a helpful purpose in what I’m doing. For me, it’s better to see the good in whatever the situation may be and use it to my advantage. And, it does help me to remain focused. Discouragement has no place in the life of a motivated marketer and writer like myself. Instead of stressing over competing with so many online affiliate marketers, I have developed the mindset of “let the competition begin.”

goals
Like

About the Creator

Nathonia Smith

I am a wife, mother, grandmother, inventor and online published writer who recently completed studies at Ashford University earning a Bachelors Degree in Human Resource Management. Writing has always given me such joy and fulfillment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.