Motivation logo

Reassessing Life During the Coronavirus Pandemic

Discovering Priorities in a Time of Change

By Reana McGuirePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Brina Blum on Unsplash

Like many of you, I am quarantined at home through a safer-at-home order to curtail the COVID-19 pandemic. The news and social media have showcased stages of denial, shock, scrambling, acceptance, and integration. Like me, you may have found yourself in a continual information feed, staying up-to-date with what is happening in the world and simultaneously evaluating your own priorities. What do we do with ourselves now that our routine has been disrupted? With society on pause, we have the opportunity to go within and return to what matters.

Some influencers champion this is the time to write that book. To finish the project you keep procrastinating. For major breakthroughs to occur. Some people are preoccupied with homeschooling their children and juggling their jobs. My husband and I are still working, albeit remotely. Many are going to three or four stores trying to find toilet paper. My mom shipped me some from two states away! I think day-by-day we are continually adapting, evaluating our circumstances and priorities. Yet, just what are our priorities? Netflix and smoking weed to get through the crisis?

Pre-pandemic, my life revolved around accomplishing tasks. Corporate career. Grad school. A home to maintain. A spiritual life and friendships to nourish. Side projects. Although I was living small, containing the radius from which I physically traveled, it was a high maintenance life in that I often needed to be “on.” I calendared in bubble baths, trips to the nail salon, daily meditation, occasional eyelash extensions, and everything else required to flourish and optimally manage my responsibilities. I love project management. Although I had reached my own definition of success, I was still driven by a life that required my attention in so many directions. I frequently found myself burned out from an emotionally taxing but also a rewarding job. I kept pushing myself forward every day, waiting for a break. In the downtimes, I restocked and recharged my heart and mind. My break came when the entire world had to shut down.

At first, I thought of side projects. I have a couple short stories to finish. I can deep clean and organize my home. Maybe I’ll explore my cooking skills? Further explore the many business ideas I have? How can I be productive AF during this time? For, after all, I am the queen of productivity. I live it day in and day out. As my husband and I meal planned and adjusted our lives to this new world, figuring out how to capitalize on this extra time continued running in the back of my head.

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

I approached it through the methods in my first article, Tools to Tackle your “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” To-Do List. Besides daily maintenance, like checking emails, calling family, and putting that Instapot to good use, what was my biggest “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” item? It came down to what I’m doing right now. Writing. As a young girl, I would write short stories. I write poetry. I journal and pen down my dreams. Of all the things I could take on right now, writing articles online would be the most personally rewarding. To begin building my writing portfolio for the internet world. Although I have a great paying career, I’ve joked about quitting to become a writer. Besides this, I enjoy the craft and thought someone would benefit from how I put language together and present food for thought.

So, I found writing to be the one project to take on while stuck at home seven days a week. My dog is all the happier for it. Me being home all day, that is. Besides this, I have put my queen of productivity persona on the back burner. I am giving myself permission to s l o w d o w n. I had been waiting for a break from the hustle and bustle, and it arrived from the Governor of California ordering I stay home. This is the time to go within. To get back in touch with my roots. To reset my physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health. To get away from all the triggers that keep me wrapped up. To find a deeper inspiration. To figure out what direction I want to go in.

As we find ourselves in new circumstances, I implore you to discover what is most optimal for you at this time. It might be keeping your family in order. It could be reading that Jane Austen novel. It might be starting that drop shipping business, or it even watching Netflix all day and smoking weed. Perhaps being of service to your community and those in need. You got this and you do you. As we all attend our personal priorities, my hope is that the world will turn back on with individuals more connected to what matters to them.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.