Motivation logo

Reasons for Reiki

How I found it and how it helps me heal.

By Jennifer GaouettePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

You will find many articles that will tell you why you or the general public should reiki. You will find many resources that tell you the positive benefits to all areas of health and wellness - physical, mental, spiritual. You will find medical professionals recommending the practice for a multitude of provable reasons. Usually, I am a big supporter of facts. The concrete. The tangible.

Reiki is not usual. It is beyond that. Here is how I, a book worm focused on that which I can touch, found a holistic healing art. Hopefully, by understanding how I found this miraculous practice, you may learn to give it a chance too.

Yoga started me on a journey into wellness and a spiritual reality that could not be touched. This journey included not only practicing reiki, but becoming reiki certified. Since reiki can have such a profound personal impact, I think it’s important for you to know why I choose reiki.

I choose reiki for my bad days, my good days, and my ‘normal’ days. I choose reiki for my highest functioning levels and my lowest functioning levels and everything in-between. I choose reiki for my body, my mind, and my spirit. In reality though, I think reiki may have chosen me.

There are points in everyone’s life when challenges become overwhelming. For me, it sometimes feels I have no control over life’s challenges. I say reiki chooses me because I was desperately calling out for consistency.

My life has many physical and mental struggles that contribute to bad days. From disc degeneration to anxiety to herniations to depression and beyond, there are many reasons for me to say ‘I can’t’ and leave it at that. I needed a practice that was flexible. Having a practice that I could turn to, when I physically or mentally could not move myself, held power. That power may have been what kept me going to pursue healing.

Good days are always something to be thankful for in life. They should be held in regard. What I find, is that on good days, I can become ungrounded. I become excited and can fly away in the positive emotions, into my headspace where there is no sight of logic or consequence. Clearly, this can have some interesting consequences later. Some are good consequences, such as a favorite tattoo. Some are bad consequences. Reiki can bring me back to a safely functioning level and let me really experience the good feelings in a grounded and appreciative way.

More often than not, there are ‘eh’ days: those normal days where nothing really good or bad happens. I go to work, I come home, I sleep. Those days blur together and do not make a huge impact in most instances. When I take time to reflect on them, I can pick out the individual emotions and reflect on them and their impact. Reiki slows me down and makes me consider my feelings and thoughts on the normal.

Reiki gives me the power to acknowledge myself. I can heal the parts that need healing, see the parts that need seeing, and align the parts that need aligning. I can put my day into perspective. The power to do this applies to myself when I choose, but I can share that power with others. Reiki allows me to put power into an object. Reiki gives me the power to share these attributes with other people. Reiki gives me the consistency and power over my life that I needed.

I think, if you let it, it will have power for you. Even by allowing yourself to take it in, reiki can offer you some healing, some power, and some good will.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.