Motivation logo

Quarantine made me a better version of myself

Time for self-reflection led me to prioritize myself and instill healthy habits

By Sophie BaronPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Quarantine made me a better version of myself
Photo by Sanah Suvarna on Unsplash

Hot take but the quarantine has been one of the best things to happen to me in a long time. While baking copious amounts of breads and treats, trying Chloe Ting workouts and binge watching The Great British Baking Show, I have simultaneously grown into a more authentic and healthy version of myself

While the quarantine may have been extremely draining and difficult for some, I found that the time to myself was rejuvenating and allowed me space to truly evaluate who I am and who I want to be. I do want to note that this feeling comes from a place of extreme privilege. I recognize that although the health restrictions impeded on my academic and social plans, I am extremely fortunate to have a stable health and financial situation. This privilege gave me the space I needed to press pause on many of the stresses and anxieties the pandemic brought and think more intrinsically.

With that being said, I am grateful to have had this summer for reflection and I want to share one simple change that helped me realign and focus on myself.

One of the biggest changes, and yet the biggest joy I have become accustomed to is waking up early. I have always been more productive in the morning but treasured my sleep so much that I would roll out of bed just minutes before leaving for class. I didn’t realize it at the time but my lack of a morning routine led to a lot of anxiety later in the day, unpreparedness and slump in energy.

Once I started my remote internship though, I decided to commit myself to early mornings so that I had time to exercise. It wasn’t long before my long mornings meant more than just fitting in a workout. I was able to listen to a podcast, shower, prepare a nutritious breakfast and make a mental list of daily tasks and goals.

A delicious breakfast I prepared!

This may seem dramatic, but the few extra hours in the morning changed my whole outlook on life. Setting time in the morning to be alone and to do what I enjoy really helped me prioritize myself. By creating space to do things for myself first thing in the morning, I was setting the trajectory for the rest of my day.

The benefits of this slight routine adjustment far surpassed an improvement in my energy. As soon as an early wake-up time became a habit, I noticed changes in my productivity at work, my creativity was flourishing, and my overall mood altered for the better.

When school starts in the fall and my schedule once again becomes overwhelmed with classes, assignments, extracurriculars and socializing, I am certain that the urge to press snooze on the alarm and roll back into bed will be higher than ever.

While the stresses that come with school may seem like an excuse to sleep in more, I am determined to apply what I learned about myself during my summer of self-reflection. I hope that I can find comfort in my routine and continue to prioritize my mental, emotional physical health in the same ways that I have tried these past few months.

I’d like to add that while a solid and consistent morning routine was what helped me put myself first, that may not be the answer for everyone. It could be a mid-day walk to give yourself time to think or late-night journaling.

Whatever or whenever it may be, scheduling in time to do something each and every day for yourself and for no one else, helps to clear the mind of any worries and keep your own personal health and wellness at the forefront of your choices each day.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Sophie Baron

Just a midwestern girl making her way through life on the east coast. Often found de-stressing by aggressively typing away her feelings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.