Motivation logo

Publishing Everyday

Tips, Tricks, and Thoughts on how you can do it too

By Anna klawitterPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Publishing something every. single. day.

Those five words look intimidating, even as I look at them. I did it, though. I wrote and published something every. single. day. For thirty days in a row, I showed up and created something.

I honed my writing skills, and I connected with more people by pushing myself to pull my laptop out and intentionally sit down to put my full focus on the words in front of me.

Writing every day has changed me. It’s made me more concise in how I present an idea to my audience. In this day and age, there are a million distractions, and if my words can’t catch my reader’s attention immediately, my writing isn’t of much worth.

No matter what route you choose in life, you’re going to need to be able to write effectively. Your words should inform, persuade, and captivate the reader.

Your writing should snatch the reader up into a whirlwind of calm, concise beauty, only to leave them breathless and wanting more.

Publishing every day has forced me to expose myself to the world.

It taught me to be okay with being vulnerable. Once you can learn to embrace the criticism the world hurls at you, and realize that criticism isn’t something to cower underneath but serves as a ladder to climb closer to your goals, it will be hard for anyone to tear you down.

Publishing every day has taught me discipline

When you are required to create something every single day. When you push yourself to be accountable to something bigger than yourself. When you force yourself to write even when you don’t want to. You are learning to do difficult things. You are learning to create even when you don’t feel like it. You are learning to push past that horrible phrase called writer’s block. You are learning to defy the Resistance and become not only a better writer but a better person.

Publishing every day has turned my writing from good to great

Practice really does make perfect. When you’re doing something every single day for an hour, you’re going to become better at it. It might not be a monumental movement right away, but slow and steady wins the race. I have seen my writing take a turn for the better. I’ve learned to write for my audience. Writing every day has caused new thoughts to form in my mind. I’m learning to not be self-centered and selfish in my writing. I’m writing for the benefit of my audience and hoping to share my thoughts and ideas to make my readers think more critically about their lives.

Here’s the best thing about this post. You can publish every day too.

Sure, there will be days you have writer’s block and write a simple haiku. There will be moments when you absolutely hate the blank space staring at you, begging for black scribbles. You’re going to wonder why you thought publishing every day was a good idea. But you will thank yourself, in the end, your self-growth is the reason you should set and push towards a goal.

Tips to get started:

Write down every thought that comes to you. View everything as something you can write about

2. Don’t beat yourself up if your writing isn’t perfect. Just write.

3. Don’t be afraid to start small. A published couple of words or thoughts is better than the feeling of defeat that comes from not meeting your goal.

4. Read something whenever you feel stuck. The War of Art by Stephen Pressfield is an inspirational book that’s given me ideas on what to write when all I felt utterly empty and blank.

The beauty of writing every day far outweighs the pain of resistance you will feel. Writing every day is the spark that has fueled my quickly growing fire to create something great. Publishing every day has taught me that I can accomplish anything I set my mind to and overcome any formidable obstacle.

You can too.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Anna klawitter

Passionate about words and constantly improving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.