Motivation logo

Please 2021 Be Better Than Last Year

Coronavirus was one thing the world as a whole never saw coming nor had planned for in the year 2020. Many of us were planning our year's trips, work goals, and personal growth. Little did we know that all of that would be wiped out and a whole new world would start to take shape.

By Maya Papaya Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Please 2021 Be Better Than Last Year
Photo by Nora Schlesinger on Unsplash

Coronavirus was one thing the world as a whole never saw coming nor had planned for in the year 2020. Many of us were planning our year's trips, work goals, and personal growth milestones. Little did we know that all of that would be wiped out and a whole new world would start to take shape.

Even in the turmoil the world rose from the ashes, fought through continuing growing pains, and continues to rise to new heights with the dawn of a new year.

With the continuation of last years policies and a potential order for yet another lockdown and smaller checks handed out to the people we are all wondering what we are going to be facing with this new year. With that vision and a tentative hope we still write out some hopes and pray (if you are into that type of thing) that we will get to see the day where we get to do so.

By Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

With that in mind I head into the new year with some goals of my own.

1) Remember to take care of myself in all the necessary areas (mental, physical, and spiritual).

Now I am not saying that the 3 areas of working on your life are for everyone. If you are someone who believes in the spiritual aspect than that of course effects the other areas. If you do not, then the mental and physical are just as interwoven.

It is important that you take care of all aspects of yourself. One of the biggest lessons I learned last year is that you must prioritize yourself and your health in order to best help those around you.

Below I have some ways that I will try to really focus on in the coming year and the area in which I put it under:

• Prioritize Scripture reading and personal journaling time (spiritual/mental)

• Make sure to schedule in some time every day to just unwind and relax (mental)

• Take more walks (physical)

• Look into healthier meals and recipes for weight loss (physical/mental)

• Create a workout routine (physical)

By Alex Azabache on Unsplash

2) Get one of my YouTube channels monetized.

I feel this is self explanatory, but nevertheless it is a goal for me in the new year. I put this here because while it is a step for my career it is also something that I love to do and would love to improve my skills in.

3) Create the literary podcast that I have been dreaming about.

As you can probably start to see from the list I am most definitely investing more of my time to my social media presence and taking it to the next level by actually looking at this opportunity for what it is, as a career.

2020 was definitely the year of exploration and experimentation. Now that I have found my niche and my own voice I think it is about time to capitalize on that and really put my nose to the grind.

I have been really interested in the whole idea of podcasting and what that would mean for me and my brand. So this year in February I am happy to introduce my first ever podcast Miss Opinionated After Dark. I have posted the link down below so you can follow us as we learn to podcast together (as well as the YouTube channel of the same name)!

https://www.spooncast.net/@miss.opinionate

4) Finish my poetry collection and start selling it.

I have told people that I want to be an author since the fourth grade and my answer never changed once. Even when every teacher would tell us that your answer would never have to be written in stone, I knew there was no going back for me. This is what I was born to do.

So I wrote.

And wrote.

And wrote.

Then I ignored it for 4 years and have come back to it with a new motivation, a new fire, and a new perspective. Some would say I am wiser, but I have just learned how life truly is by more and more failure. I am just good at wording myself to make others believe me and actually do something well for themselves.

In all seriousness, I have stumbled across many a poem that was written in the darkest moments of my life. Then and still I found myself wanting to find a hope. A lot of the poems that I pulled out were also not completely written. Almost as if the past version of me knew there would be a better time where I would be able to come in and tell her that life actually worked out for us.

A part of me feels like that whole previous explanation was very ironic. Another story for another time.

5) Learn to cook some new recipes.

This somewhat coincides with goal number one but I felt it wise to make it its own goal as this just incorporates a new hobby and a new skill set.

I am still a noob when it comes to the knowledge of a healthy relationship with food. I have had a skewed view for years of not only food but body image and that has deteriorated a lot of self-confidence (an even longer story for another time). Long story short, I need to learn how to have a healthy balance of food so I can enjoy the food that I eat as I do like food, but also being nice to my body and digestive system.

And if I learn a new skill along the way then that is a plus.

Those are all of my new goals for the year of 2021! I hope that you have a much better year than that of last and that you get to do all that you set out to do for the upcoming year!

For more on my journey and whether or not I succeed in these goals you can check me out here. . .

and of course here!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Maya Papaya

A creative at heart but a squirrel for a brain. Making the actual completion of anything is yet to be determined 😂

I am a content creator, writer, and world traveler (still getting to the last part)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.