Motivation logo

Picture The Perfect Life

By Erica Cadiz

By Erica CadizPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Have you ever imagined where you would be in ten years? Same. I am 23 years old who graduated college almost a year ago, however, my life is not at all close to where I saw myself being at 23 years old. My 13 year old self, thought that I would be living on my own, have a full-time job, in a happy relationship, and just having the time of my life. Oh, was I wrong. I am currently living with my parents, I have a part-time job, and I have no idea what I should be doing and where I should be going. It does not make it easier that majority of my friends or people in the media who are around the same age, already have their lives figured out and what they want to do. I am in a constant battle with myself of how I should have done this, or I should be doing that and maybe everything would be different and I would at least have some form of comfort that my life is put together. Life has a really funny way of working and I am not quite sure if I could keep up. As the days went by, I would constantly think what I should be doing and how I can do things differently, but I realized, I was doing everything all wrong.

If I were to picture the perfect life for myself in ten years, I imagine being married, having kids, pursuing my dream job, and being able to help my family in any way that I can. I will get back to you in ten years to see if any of this came true. Even with the unknowing right in front of me, I still believe that everything will work out the way it's supposed to. And even if I am not on track with my ten year plan, I know that my dreams will eventually come true, but the key role to this is understanding that I am the only one who can push myself to go after my dreams. I am writing this article to shine a light on the fact that it is okay to not have ones life figured out because that is the beauty of life and the excitement of the unknowing. I may not be in the same track my friends are in, but I am on track on my own terms. We don't live in a world where everyone needs to be doing the same thing, so I need to understand that I am living on my own pace. Picturing the perfect life is all that it is... picturing it. I can see myself living in a beautiful home with a big back yard, a pool, a mini playground for the kids, but none of that is reality until I start making it into one. I want to give everyone that little push to go after their dreams and to start living instead of just dreaming about what could be. You and I will both take that leap to start living the perfect life instead of picturing it.

My point is, I want those who are feeling lost and confused in any situation, to understand that they are not alone. It is okay to not have your life figured out, it is okay to think that life may not be going the way you want it, because I am definitely on the same boat and you are not alone.

If any of you are interested, I do a podcast with one of my best friends, called Green Mangoes. If you enjoy the content you read here, then you should give our podcast a listen!

Stay beautiful, stay safe and thank you for reading! :)

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.