Motivation logo

Phoenix

Humanity is a wounded bird

By Tatjana RaphaelPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

It takes courage to accept yourself for who you are.

To be able to realize both your strong suits and your downfalls create who you are. It takes courage, To think it’s okay to believe that you are special, that you are beautiful, that you are worthy... because sometimes those beliefs lead to incongruence with your reality.

Meaning that the world or others around you may not have treated you as if you are important, maybe they’ve treated you like shit... or perhaps you’ve never been directly told negative things about yourself from other people... maybe you’ve adopted them yourself and they have become a part of your identity.

I’ve somehow believed that if I was a bad person, if I was ugly, if I was worthless... then that may be why I got dealt the deck of cards I did. Maybe if I was fundamentally deranged or somehow defective.. maybe that’s why life kicked me in the ass. But. That is a false truth. I believe that shit happens. You must hold yourself accountable, however you must not blame yourself for everything that goes wrong in your life.. we cling to this idea that if we blame ourselves then perhaps we had some sort of control in the string of events that have occurred, it gives us a false sense of power. However, whatever has happened to you... it’s not because you are any lesser than anyone else... or greater than anyone else. The fact is that all people have good parts to them and bad parts to them, it just varies from categories to severity. But, what we see in the world, what we HATE the most is the aspects about ourselves which we have not fully accepted yet, those morsels of our being pushed so far under the conscious mind ( the ego ) and into the realm of our inner catacombs (sub conscious) , where they fester.. where we grow hateful, bitter, resentful.

I came to the realization today that I have been neglecting myself in an obscure way. I have been telling myself that I am unattractive or ugly for quite sometime in my head, whenever I begin to feel good about myself I feel ashamed. As if it’s a crime of morality to be attractive, or it means that I am vain if I accept my physical body for what it is. However, this knowledge that I am actually not an ugly piece of shit fucked with me a bit... it forced me to re-examine myself... my identity, what I’ve told myself for years.. to break free from a vicious cycle of self-hatred, depression and isolation. I in fact am worthy. You are worthy. All of us are. The beauty you see in the world is a reflection of the beauty that lies within yourself. You can accept the beauty of a rose, the complexity of the universe, the woes of the world.. however, we all hold this beauty, this complexity, this woe.. this pain, this suffering... we are all connected.

I suppose what I’m trying to get at... by accepting ourselves for we are, both the good and the bad... understanding certain time’s when the beliefs we had about ourselves worked in our favours and when the beliefs we once held now become weapons to our self-destruction. Perhaps... by accepting ourselves.. the good the bad the ugly, spend more time reflecting on the worlds within ourselves.. we can start to bring forth more peace and joy in the external world. We are not powerless, we are not weak, we are not victims of chance. We have the power to change how we view our perceptions, our realities, our lives and eventually the world around us.

Start to shift your perspective, start to make a positive difference, bring forth healing, love, joy... I hope it spreads like a wildfire. Humanity is a wounded bird, may a Phoenix arise from the ashes.

self help
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.