Motivation logo

Personal Growth Reflection

Justin A Gamache - Concordia University, Portland

By Justin Ames GamachePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Introduction

This paper is a personal growth reflection in Organizational Leadership, and what I would include in my personal leadership profile. The first part of understanding how to be a leader is knowing how to conform a complex situation into a simple situation. Being simple minded might be difficult, but it is the work of a genius to overcome such obstacles. I would take the challenge to providing a defined mode of Organizational Leadership ground to my personal leadership profile while reflecting that good ethics should come naturally, good morals that believe failure is not an option, and faith in my ability to remain a learner. Participation, shared power, and truth are great starters amongst your team, and consistency, coaching, and communication are my three goals for professional growth in Organizational Leadership.

Define A preferred mode of Organizational Leadership ground in your Personal Leadership profile

A preferred mode of Organizational Leadership ground in my personal leadership profile would be in simplicity. I have always believed that being too complex is difficult, and is unclear to understand anything that is going on around you. Simplicity is an imperative for successful leadership. As a leader, I would embrace any significant challenges that come my way and would approach those challenges with a simple mind. I am not meaning in any way to dumb things down because I understand it takes skill to take in and process complex information. This means I would cut through the complexity, and make things simple for myself and others. This is my preferred mode of organizational leadership to be grounded on, and it is attached to my personal leadership profile.

Simplicity is true knowledge, and knowledge is power. It would be wise to those as an organizational and change leader to accept the facts that not everything is going to be easy, we just have to work a little bit hard to achieve the simplicity we are striving for even if we do not get what we want in the end. To make things simple is to create clarity amongst the team you are working with, and once you have achieved this clarity when a concept, or idea appears to be complex and confusing, it now makes it simple and clear to be fulfilled.

Reflect on How Your Organizational Leadership is Ground in your Ethics, Morals, and Faith

First, I would like to say, that my contributions in my organizational leadership make the person I am today, and this is because I have a deep respect for learning, learning with music, and enhancing the minds of my students as a teacher. Without giving a world of thought, I understand that having good ethical skills should come naturally. I believe that I am confident in understanding where I stand in my ethics because I know if I do something wrong it would be costly to my career. I enjoy being a leader and helping others, it is in my nature and will always be. My morals are strong because I have a “Susan B. Anthony that “failure is impossible,” and I believe we are all in this together as a group of “learners” (Fullan, 2011, p. 111). I have faith in myself that what I do, and how I do things projects as a good productive leader. Though sometimes we have to learn to understand that when something bad happens, we must, at all costs, learn from why something bad happened with different ways of thinking. These functions I discussed are my grounds in good ethics, morals, and faith.

Principles set forth by Deaner

The principles set forth by Deaner (1994) include the use of “human resources, participation, collaborating, democratic decision-making, regenerative interaction, employee empowerment, employee influence over organization destiny, openness, authenticity, and honesty” (p. 436). These principles also include a model of OD ethics; they are, 1. Participation which “states that all people affected by organizational change should have the opportunity to be involved in it” (p. 437). 2. Shared power which states, “that all peopled affected by organizational change should have the opportunity to share decision-making power related to the change project” (p. 438), and 3. Truth; which states “that all people affected by organizational change should tell each other the truth, including such objective information as rationale for the project, goals, expected problems and cost/benefit figures” (p. 439).

Three Personal Goals for Professional Growth in Organizational Leadership

It is often difficult to be responsive, clear, and consistent (Schmuck et al., 2012) in an organization when demands are pulling you in multiple directions. Defining three personal goals for professional growth in organizational leadership would make it better in having a strong dedication to success. The three personal goals that I identify with are: 1. Consistency, 2. Coaching, and 3. Communication.

The consistency goal would involve establishing the clear expectation and following through on them. It’s behaving in alignment with your organization’s values; as well as, your own and behaving in a steady manner. It’s also keeping promises or renegotiating them if you can’t keep them in a straightforward way. The coaching goal is a perfect tool to have when aligning the values of your culture with the values of your team members. It is also a primary way that I like to do most to motivate your team members, and let them feel that they are learning, developing and becoming more successful. The communication goal; communication is the key to success and of course, you want to have a strong communication towards your goals you want to achieve. Change leaders work every day with team members who have different opinions, values, beliefs and needs. The ability to exchange ideas with others, understanding perspectives, and solve problems depends on how effectively we are able to communicate. I know stressing good communication skills involves verbal, nonverbal and paraverbal components that are why we need to make clear and concise messages so that, the message we are trying to get across can be heard clearly and can be put into production.

Conclusion

Indeed, while we come to face decisions that are unclear, we must realize the direction we are going and change our way of thinking so we can be successful with what is unclear. Simplicity is true knowledge, and knowledge is power. To make things simple is to create clarity amongst the team you are working with, and once I have achieved clarity when a concept or idea appears to be complex and confusing, it now makes it simple and clear to be fulfilled. As a change leader, it would be my job to fulfill the requirements needed to be simple, and inspire others so that my personal growth as an organizational leader can flourish to do great things in the future.

References

DEANER, C. (1994). A MODEL OF ORGANIZATION DEVELOPMENT ETHICS. Public Administration Quarterly, 17(4), 435-446. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/40861600

Fullan, M. (2011). Leading in a culture of change. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.

Schmuck, R. A., Bell, S.E. & Bell, W.E. (2012). The handbook of organization development in schools and colleges. Fifth Edition. Santa Cruz, CA: Exchange Point International.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Justin Ames Gamache

“Be yourself — not your idea of what you think somebody else’s idea of yourself should be.” — Henry David Thoreau

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.