Motivation logo

Passion or a Lucrative Being

Whatever you’re doing now, make sure it’s important to you.

By L. R. Anthony’sPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

At some point in our lives we all want to fit in. For whatever scientific reason that I could care less about, we have the desire to not stick out like a sore thumb. Unless of course we become famous through some socially accepted and appropriate avenue. We all grow up taught to reach for some goal, our education is centralized as practically the reason for our existence. Nothing is more important than school and everything else is a hobby or a phase. As much as I dislike the school system but love education, this article isn’t about that, it’s about asking the question where and who the hell am I and why.

School is the best example of fitting in that exists. It has cliques, it has politics, some more defined than others. We’re there most of our lives (or so it seems) and it’s where we’re supposed to “discover ourselves,” as having sex with people of every gender in college really helps you pose the greater questions of life. It’s where we ask ourselves, “how am I going to finish three essays in one night and still have time to get drunk?” while we realize the only thing we know about ourselves for certain is we need a degree to make money and that we’re master procrastinators. Upon which time we skip the drink and the homework and watch YouTube videos on the benefits of procrastination to give ourselves the validation we so deserve!

Some of us, however, realize we were chasing after nothing at all. Or nothing that mattered to us at least. The real question that snapped me back into reality from my zombie stupor was, “If I’m on my death bed would I regret my pitiful life?” The answer was hell yes because pieces of congratulatory paper, medals, and a picture with the pastor doesn’t mean crap when we look at the big picture. We all say money can’t buy happiness yet we’re taught as if we should be motivated by it. I gave myself a choice: should I do a job I’ll hate and make someone else’s dream come true so they can buy a half a million dollar trinket and place it on their mantle to collect dust? OR say f*ck it, I rather die knowing I’ve lived than die having never tried. Of course, the second because Disney Dreams do come true.

I chose my passion over being a lucrative drone. By “lucrative drone” I mean being a money motivated worker who hates their job but does it anyway because they like money. AKA most people, AKA once me. There’s nothing wrong with liking the finer things of life. A double-wide mobile home, Spotify premium, chicken wings. But why pay for music when you can make it? Why pay rent on a home when you can build one? Why eat chicken wings when you can...forget that one. My point is, life experiences trump what Mommy and Daddy want you to do. Fulfilling our personal desire of gaining knowledge in any field we find ourselves passionate shouldn’t only be accepted when we’re in a college.

Wow, now you’ve really done it; you left college because no one can stop you and you’re following your dreams. Those who succeed have talent, seek to increase their knowledge and understand success takes time and failure. Those who don’t end up working a job they hate anyway. Never having the talent or desire to learn to back up their passion and now find their once reason for living being a hobby. My advice is, whatever you’re doing now, make sure it’s important to you. I know it’s difficult, but look beyond the money, not too far because we all need to make a living. Look far enough to see yourself on your death bed and ask yourself “did I live a life full of wonderful experiences, did I fail enough?” Or did you play it safe, fulfill your role in society, and call it a life.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

L. R. Anthony’s

A life-long student of philosophy with a lot of opinions on a lot of things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.