Motivation logo

Overcoming the Fear of Vulnerability and Unlocking Your Power

“Sharing your weakness is putting yourself at risk; to make yourself weak to show your strength. ”~ Criss Jami

By Sulav kandelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Overcoming the Fear of Vulnerability and Unlocking Your Power
Photo by Lopez Robin on Unsplash

Wanting to avoid pain and protecting themselves from them is natural - and, of course, impossible at all, because as we approach to protect ourselves from pain, we also block the light from them.

In addition to our best efforts, the boundaries we have built in our hearts to protect us from the pain, discomfort, and injury are the chains that keep us bound, which does not allow us to feel the opposition - joy, love and passion.

It is only accepting our true nature, at our deepest level, as emotional, endangered, and sensitive beings where we can tap into our strong inner strength.

Have you ever tried to cross your arms in front of your heart while smiling or laughing at the same time? Give it a try. Sounds weird. You may know that you are smiling or laughing, but you are sure you do not feel like it.

Or, try throwing your arms up with a big open heart like you’ve just skipped an amazing competitive race, and see if you can wear a frown or angry face. It just sounds artificial. This is because we feel human and the center of our heart is our central emotional center.

When we close our hearts, we block our emotions again, and when we open our hearts, it sounds natural that we will never be happy.

Our emotions are indicators of our current alignment with the way of our soul and the source of higher power.

I often put down feelings, especially negative ones, without realizing that by doing so I was undermining my correct direction.

Emotions are there to teach us something about ourselves and express our true desires. It is only when we are in danger, when we let go of the weapons that surround our hearts, that we can truly reach these feelings and lessons in order to stay focused, strong and wise.

My childhood and adolescence were not perfect. I grew up separated from my family, especially when my father, who was an alcoholic, used sarcasm and verbal abuse.

This place instilled in my little growing mind the idea that the world is hard. I looked at the world with a focused lens of struggle, and this vision became a reality for me as I felt I had to improve my lifestyle with a non-stop effort like never before.

As a result, I spent the better thirty years building the walls unknowingly to protect myself from the fears and insecurities I had in my youth.

Being in danger meant emotional pain, so I developed thick skin as I grew older. From the point of view of others, I had a good vision of strong will and determination; and my fear of being judged by my poor upbringing was diminished.

As I went through life, I always seemed happy enough, enough, and smart enough, but I grew up knowing full well that there was a roof over my head that I could barely recognize, fully aware of the fact that it wasn’t high enough.

While I was always happy, when it came to happiness, it seemed like a break. I was very guarded and allowed myself to be tough, tough, and in a state of resistance.

I thought that in order to be strong and strong, I had to be tough and fight hard and put up strong defenses. Ironically, in an effort to gain strength, I lost my strength.

My happiness depended greatly on the other things that happened or did not happen as if they were beyond my control. Now I can say that this disconnection is the result of resistance to my true nature and I am not always open and vulnerable to the call of my inner Higher Self, because of the layers of walls and bars I have built.

There came a point in my life after my father’s tragic death from cancer when I decided I would never accept to go back to my days of being strong, cut off, or defensive. I hadn’t fully forgiven him at the time of his passing, but I made a conscious choice at the time, and now it’s a daily evolution, in which I choose to give in to my own dangers rather than hide from them.

Through yoga, meditation, and multi-goal setting, I began to break down these walls one layer at a time, revealing each time the soft side I had always known was an important part of my existence - the side shapes, connects and always has deep inner knowledge; a flexible, growing and flexible segment.

These days I choose to regain my strength and put my heart in my sleeve, where it belongs. This does not mean that I am emotionally overwhelmed, but I allow myself to be in danger, discard my resistance and feel overwhelmed by my experience, showing as needed in the pursuit of a higher meaning behind anything that would hurt me.

I am well aware that everything is fleeting or temporary, and for this reason I try my best not to take things lightly. With this awareness I feel like I have no choice but to take it completely for a moment by allowing myself to be in danger and feel really deep.

The challenge lies in identifying what beliefs are no longer helpful and understanding that, while you have deep feelings and emotions, you are not these feelings or feelings, rather they are there to help guide what is happening in your life.

If we go through life's dangers because of weakness, or build walls of concealment at our own expense, blocking the fruit of what we desire, and true love, joy, passion, and freedom will fall painfully at our feet, suddenly reaching out.

Being in danger is in a state of trust and courage. In this situation, all things are possible and our driving, our strength, and our power are in line with who we really are, not what we fear.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Sulav kandel

Im a contain writter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.