Motivation logo

Only you will be able to make changes in 2021

Don't know how to get out of the quarantine rut, wondering how to find motivation for this new year? Read below and find out.

By Jesse KariukiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Only you will be able to make changes in 2021
Photo by dylan nolte on Unsplash

Let me begin by telling you that this is not that one post that you read, absorb, and continue to ignore for most of your life. What I'm about to tell you is a fundamental truth, that you and only you should carry with you for the rest of your life. Unlike all the other posts you may have read and seen that start by telling you a long and lengthy story, trying to convince you to buy some weird self-help routine, or some program that you aren't sure will even work. I'm going to tell it to you straight.

The only battle that you will ever have to fight and win, is the battle against your own mind.

Great, there you go, now you know the secret, but what you may be wondering is how. How does this even apply, and what in the ever-living heck am I supposed to do with this? I'm going to teach it to you, and by teaching you, I'm going to remove any excuse that you may ever make about why you aren't achieving your goals

I had to learn this the hard way and to help you understand exactly what I mean by this I am going to tell you my story...

During the beginning of 2020, I was severely overweight, depressed, and completely down and broken. I wasn't able to achieve any of the new year's resolutions that I had set for myself during 2019, and I was feeling gutted that I wasn't even able to achieve the smallest of things.

When the quarantine was announced I knew that it was only going to get worse unless I started making some real, radical changes to my life and what I was doing at the time. So I began where everyone in this digital age does; Google.

I googled way over 300+ websites and ways to lose weight, gain confidence, and live a healthy life, and time after time I was exposed to "quick tips for healthy weight loss" and while the information was good, it wasn't what I was searching for. What I was searching for wasn't a tip, or a trick to further mess with my body or lie to me that I was actually progressing, I wanted to work, and to achieve my absolute best through my own efforts.

I did the only thing that I knew was going to make a change.

Since quarantine essentially means that you won't be going outside for extended periods of time and you won't be using much energy. The only thing that I saw would work, and work well, was to stop eating completely. Which I did, and for about a month I didn't eat anything whatsoever, but I continued to keep myself hydrated and made sure that I wasn't suffering any ill effects from it.

During that one month, I lost 17 kilos or 37 pounds. I lost both fat and muscle, and afterward. I was so immensely proud of myself, because 1. I had successfully set and achieved a major goal, and 2. that nothing could ever stop me as long as I was determined enough.

"Greaaat that's amazing man", you may be thinking, "But how does this even come close to applying to me?"

From my story, this is what I want you to leave with.

1. Only you can set and achieve goals in your life,

2. Every single day where you don't put effort towards reaching those goals is a day lost to space and time, never to be recovered,

3. Nothing will ever begin unless you make the first step, and honestly, every single day is the same, the sun rises, and sets, so don't make the mistake of picking convenient days to start, then procrastinate and miss them. Start now, and don't stop, continually make effort to reach your goal, and you definitely will.

4. I believe in you, cause you have so much more potential than you realize

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.