Motivation logo

One Step at a Time

Goals are an extension of our passions, and some passions are limitless

By Lizzy RosePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

I have long outgrown the concept of New Year's Resolutions. I used to think they were a bizarre concept, that having goals should not be excluded to one select time of the beginning of a year, that you shouldn't feel ashamed if you don't accomplish some little promise you spit out into the universe by the next year. Some goals take time, and not everything is a "finish and move on" sort of thing.

Wellness is important, of course, but it doesn't always limit you to goals of nurturing the body and mind, such as exercising more and eating better or keeping up on medications, though those are very important. Some miniscule thing to one person may just be the sort of thing to nurture someone's else's body or mind. For example, college is important to me. I've always had to face challenges, struggles and setbacks most people would not believe a Caucasian, Cis-Gendered, Heterosexual individual could ever face, but there are other forms of bias and other challenges people face for different reasons.

It is because of this that a goal of mine that nurtures my mind and wellness, despite the many aforementioned setbacks I have been presented with, is to return to College and finish my degree. Before I was made to leave my studies, I was in my second year of a 5-year Dual Bachelors/Masters degree program studying Adolescent and Special Education, because I decided in High School that I was going to change the world. I was going to be someone to foster the growing minds of youth, and I decided that I was going to be for those kids the kind of person I desperately needed when I was a kid. Because we need people who are willing to remind our youth that our Brains are organs and can give out sometimes, same as any Kidney, Lungs, or even Heart. We need someone to remind our youth that every single human being on this Earth is different from the person standing beside them, in front of them, behind them, and that there is not a single thing wrong with that. We need teachers, and something inside of me years ago knew I needed to be one of those people, no matter what got in my way.

Goals can be simple, but most of my goals are not always so straightforward. Do I have easier wellness goals I could have shared? Yes, of course. I want to dance more, I want to sing more, I want to get better at my Content Job, make more people smile with the work that I put out there and bring more people together with the art I create. I want to do what makes me happy, instead of falling victim to a world where happiness isn't always on the front burner.

I can do those simple goals any day of the week, though. Right now, the goals that improve my wellbeing are goals that improve the well-beings of others. Going back to school means I can do what others need me to do, means one day I can get my brother out of the household that caused me so many setbacks, and give him a life he can be proud of, can thrive in. Going back to school means I get to show the College that pushed me down time and time again, that I earned the spot I was offered there, and that I am not quitting because of them and their actions.

My goal for 2020? I'm going to change the world, one step at a time.

goals
2

About the Creator

Lizzy Rose

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a poet and fiction/fantasy writer. I've been creating fiction since I was a child, making up and acting out stories. I started writing my stories when I was 9, and poetry when I was 11!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.